Amanda

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Netherlands, Poland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/02/2020 - 24/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I have just completed a bachelor's degree in Environmental Studies at a Canadian University with an exchange based in the Netherlands (Wageningen, Gelderland). I have a bit of time to pass before I head home and would like to have some new experiences and get to know a different part of Europe. I am particularly interested in gaining some insight into on-the-ground agricultural livelihoods but have extensive experience in childcare and am open to a variety of other experiences.

    I take pride in my positive outlook and organizational skills/tidiness!

    Things that I care deeply about include but are not limited to:
    - Food sustainability and security
    - Building and a just and livable future
    - Community based solutions and collaboration
    - Indigenous rights and sovereignty
    - I love spending time outside and I love dogs (big and small).

    My latest job was as a parks ranger taking tourists on to the restricted wilderness areas (to see late cretaceous fossils!!) in the back country. My favourite tours to give are fossils safaris targeted towards children. Visitors have left reviews commending my positive energy.

    I have held jobs working for non-profit organizations doing agricultural coordination, communicating with farmers, promoting local and organic products as well as coordinating delivery of low-cost food to low-income neighbourhoods and running food-related programming for vulnerable populations.

    I have also worked as a character hostess (usually Tinkerbell) for children's birthday parties. I also regularly babysit and dogsit for neighbours back home.

    Volunteer work drives me! Back home, I find fulfillment in producing an environmental podcast/radio show and being involved with my local climate justice organization.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have basic gardening skills that I would like to expand upon - having experience coordinating community garden programming
    I enjoy cooking (preferably vegetarian) and have experience running community kitchen programming
    My communication skills are my strong suit!
    I am very enthusiastic, outgoing, able-bodied and excited to learn new skills!
    I am experienced in public outreach and family/children's programming.
    I have held non-profit board member positions and have an understanding of how NGO's operate.
    I am happy to work alone but really thrive when in teams, interacting with other people of all ages and backgrounds!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    While I cannot drive legally in the EU (I think!) I have a license to drive 24-passenger buses, taxis and ambulances back in Canada
    In my free time I like to rock climb, listen to music, read, enjoy a craft beer, connect with friends (new & old) and hike.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer to eat vegetarian. I like to know where my meat is coming from if I do eat it. I respect everyone's choices and believe in supporting local producers before anything else

Photos

Feedback