Payam

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Luxembourg, Slovenia, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/03/2019 - 10/07/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Payam. I am an architect, earned my bachelor degree back in my home country Iran and earn a postgraduate degree in robotic fabrication in architecture from IAAC in Barcelona. It was all about 3dprinting buildings with robots by using local and sustainable earth materials which were so fun and inspiring.
    I have lived my entire life dreaming about a utopia, full of nice, happy people, living their life in their beautiful buildings in a world free of air pollution, traffic jams, urban noises, poor urban infrastructures and so on. That was why I studied architecture in the first place to literally help to create that utopia. As Massimo Morety one of my recent heroes told me once: "I am not that stupid to think that I can change the world, but I am crazy enough to work for that"
    So that is why I am here, I need a wide variety of experiences, I need to see different cities, cultures, countries, continents, learn from and inspired by them. I need to open my heart, open my eyes and let the crazy side of me dance a little. That is why I bought a bicycle and decided to go cycling around the world for a while.
    I am a friendly and outgoing person who loves to try new things, meet new people, being socially active, experience new cultures, living in and experiencing different cities, rural areas, landscapes, and interesting places.
    I love designing things and then building it with all the tools available around. Studying at the Institute for advanced architecture of Catalonia, helped me developed my designing skills and hand skills with different tools and machines as well.
    I am open to different types of experiences but I'd really love to work outside with my hands. I'm enthusiastic about learning new skills, from communicational and lingual skills to construction works, gardening, taking care of animals, working with different machines and so on. so I think I would be a great addition to your home or business!
    I also love teaching as much as learning stuff and I truly believe that teaching is also the best way of learning itself. And it is also the best way of learning about yourself.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    architecture:
    I have a bachelor degree in architecture and a post-graduate degree in robotic fabrication in architecture

    Design:
    I worked in different architectural offices as a designer and architect

    Interior design and decoration:
    this is more of an interest and hobby beside architecture

    working with wood:
    I had some experiences with different saws from jigsaw to coping saw, different drills and crafting tools. I also worked with CNC machines and laser cutters. Making architectural models out of wood was also helped me learned a lot about woods.

    Working with clay and earth materials:
    that was always a hobby which I enjoyed doing it so much specially making architectural models out of that again, but I also have some academic experience researching about reinforcing clay and earth materials with natural additives and then use it in the construction. we also made a one to one scale model of a staircase, 3dprinted out of clay with wooden steps. Eventually you could easily climb the stairs up and down without any problem.

    construction work:
    well, I know a thing or two hanging around buildings as an architect, and I am willing to make my hands dirty

    computer skills:
    knowing different CAD software ( Rhino, AutoCAD, Revit, SketchUp, 3dsmax), different rendering and post-production programs (Photoshop, v_ray, Lumion, InDesign, illustrator). office

    graphic design:
    designing logos, posters, flyers, banners, what so ever

    Teaching:
    I had some experiences teaching English to kids in an institute back in Iran during my freshman year in college. I also co-founded a startup which was about teaching different computer programs and digital technologies in the field of architecture.

    painting:
    it is also a hobby more than a profession

    writing:
    I used to be a blogger, but now I am working on my book

    Communicational Skills:
    Well, it is not easy to evaluate this particular set of skills with just some facts and examples, but I know myself as someone who is consciously and constantly trying to improve my communicational skills. Mainly by pushing myself out of my comfort zone to be more socially active and productive. Traveling around the world on my bicycle and communicating with different people via workaway and Couchsurfing is an example. Another example could be this: During college, as the manager of the student architectural association, I developed a social community in which we gathered once a week in one part of the city, sketching the important buildings around and exchanging our experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    english, Persian and learnig spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Persian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

A normal crazy day at IAAC (Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia)
Mirea and her lovely mother were my hosts and now friends in the beautiful city of Banyoles.
Graduation party
close friends on top of Tehran
Presenting the first 3dprinted staircase and arch out of raw earth material in the world at IAAC(Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia)
road trip around Spain with uncle Andre
Here is Montagut-Oix and this gentleman is the amazing Estender, my first host in workaway.
my cute Andalusian landlady, my American uncle and me, in a Persian restaurant in Barcelona.
3dprinting raw clay with Kuka robotic arm
First days of my journey around Europe on my bicycle. (North Catalonia)
close friends and a crazy birthday party :)
Chris is an amazing painter from England who I had the pleasure to meet and spend some times with him in Figueres, right before visiting Dali museum.
my international gang of nerds :), with our first successful prototype
on top of a volcano, Olot

Feedback