Lucy & Paul

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/10/2020 - 25/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Update June 2020:
    We will be looking for some paid work or workaway experiences in Portugal between November 2020 and March/April 2021.
    Please feel free to message us at any time though, if you're interested in hosting us for any of these dates, short or longer term.
    We can consider short term stays to help out with your project or longer term work opportunities. Anything on the land or work on a house / buildings, house sitting, pet sitting (Lucy loves dogs), looking after your hospitality business... Whatever we can do to use our skills while experiencing a bit of local life and finding some inspiration.
    Longer term we would like to find a way of life to take full advantage of our skills and interests and earn a living. Our travel plans are currently open ended with this over arching intention.
    We both have a lot to offer, a positive attitude to life and are easy going company or happy and able to be independent.
    We have our own campervan and bicycles, so can be self sufficient if this is helpful.
    Paul has done lots of maintenance, decorating and painting work in the uk. He has a lot of practical skills. He's also owned a catering business and loves to cook. He's very well organised and tidy in his work. Paul has also spent some of his younger years working at festivals and in the removals industry and holds an HGV license.
    Lucy has mainly worked in social services and the charity sector, supporting various client groups, working at a responsible management level and developing services. She worked the last 8 years for a fostering scheme for adults with learning disabilities. She is also an independent celebrant and spiritual counsellor, being non-religious in her approach to creating ceremonies for people, whatever their beliefs. She has led a large wedding and several funerals and other ceremonies.
    In early 2019 we gave notice on our jobs in England, rented out our home and bought a campervan. We secured work on a campsite in France from April to September and spent the rest of the year exploring Portugal and Spain and finding inspiring projects to get involved in, as a means to exploring the areas and seeing what's possible. We did some great workaways in Portugal and Spain.
    Our work in France involved being solely responsible for 40 mobile homes rented out on a campsite through the summer season. And we were going to be doing similar work this year until the pandemic delayed such plans. However we have been fortunate to gain similar work again from July 2020 until October in Lake Garda, Italy; so another great experience for us and now we are in Portugal again for the Winter at least.
    We're interested in socially or environmentally motivated projects. Anything driven by intentions to be socially responsible or incorporating ways to be more environmentally sustainable. We also love camping and nature so anything outdoorsy or on campsites or setting up alternative types of holiday accommodation / holistic retreats would be up our street. But these are not pre requisites. We're also used to working in " mainstream" businesses and happy to bring our caring approach and skills to any well meaning use.
    We're a responsible couple in our 40s/ 50s with a young, open outlook on life.
    We're not big drinkers but enjoy a glass or 2.
    Happy to eat vegetarian or vegan along the way.
    We speak a little French, Spanish and Italian between us and a tiny bit of Portuguese and are keen to learn as we go.
    Please message us any time if you think we'd be interested in your projects either short term or on a longer term paid basis.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Please see our profile

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Age

    46 & 54

  • What else ...

    We both love the outdoors.
    Paul is a keen cyclist and Lucy is interested in all forms of personal growth and healing.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback