Aimee-Rose

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Jordan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2018 - 19/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    816

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm from the Northern English countryside, brought up with deep love for being outdoors and nature.
    These two loves have helped me discover my third.. To travel.

    I'm a open person, I'm always keen to learn new skills and excited to put these into practice when I get the opportunity. I love learning about other people and their cultures and taking away lessons from everyone I meet.
    While this trip will be my first experience using Workaway, throughout my travels I have got involved in volunteer projects/internships. I first found out about Workaway when I was volunteering on a project in India, and was recommended I give it a try - so here it goes!

    Here are some of my skills and experiences which I hope will be useful to you..

    In 2015 I spent two months interning at a NGO called Greenpop in Cape Town. I went on planting days at local schools, to teach the pupils how to plant and look after trees, I would go back on visits and assist with maintenance through using organic fertilizers. Once a week I worked in the nursery, I had a vegetable patch which was mine to look after, alongside this I would help with general upkeep and maintenance, turning the compost, helping with the compost toilet, as well as looking after the tree saplings. In the office I was responsible for the social media content, as well as cooking a weekly vegan lunch. I also created painted signs & information boards for a music festival the charity was involved in.
    In 2016 I spent two months at a charity called Swechha in Delhi, here I was responsible for all social media, newsletters, maintaining the website and writing blog posts. I was also involved with a project creating a park, I loved learning about the medicinal plants and herbs, and creating an insect garden. They had a social enterprise called Green The Map - a shop selling up-cycled clothes and accessories from materials salvaged from landfill, as well as home-made beauty products. I was heavily involved in this enterprise through doing all the marketing for it. After this experience I'm excited to learn more hands on skills on how to create these kind of products.
    In 2017 I spent 1 month volunteering at a reforestation and conscious living project in Auroville, India. Here I lived and worked in a community of over 50 people learning about water conservation and reforrestation. Work here included preparing land for planting, planting trees, preparing natural fertilizers and pesticides. I was also involved with more general tasks such as cleaning, chopping firewood and cooking vegan meals for the community.
    My last two weeks I spent a lot of time in the Zero Waste Hut putting what I had learnt at Green the Map into practice. I would collect all the rubbish generated by the community and sort it to be re-used or recycled. I was able to work on arts and crafts projects finding new uses for all the waste.
    I was very lucky here to have the chance to learn about permaculture, I visited another project in Auroville and was taught about how to take advantage of the natural ecosystem in your area and select different complimentary and harmonious plants, as well as fully utilizing all parts of the plant. This is something I would jump at the opportunity to learn more about!
    Hopefully you've made it to the end and think you could find a use for me on your project!
    Thank-you for reading :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    gardening, eco projects, painting, art, social media & marketing, working with tourists, up-cycling, cooking, animal care

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    english

  • What else ...

    I have no professional childcare experience but I do come from a huge family! I am also a carer for my brother who is autistic, and have spent several summers volunteering at a holiday club for under 18's with a wide range of different learning and physical disabilities.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      na

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Profile is connected to:

remidauzats


Photos

Working on signs for Rocking the Daises Music Festival, South Africa
Sorting out rubbish at the Zero Waste Hut
Laying out our waste material to decompose - it a few years time this land will become fertile and will be ready to plant on

Feedback