Owen

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2017 - 01/01/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi I'm Owen. I live in a boat on the river Avon in the West Midlands of England. For the last 5 years I'v been working in a factory as a designer/ workshop engineer. The work has been good but I needed a change of scenery. So my plan is to travel for a while. Although to be honest its more about meeting new people and learning new skills than the actual destination or travelling in between.

  • Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Charity work
    Art project
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    Welding
    metalwork
    low voltage electrics
    repairing old engines (pre 1990ish)
    basic plumbing
    basic woodwork, including greenwood
    I have experience with power tools.
    I have some experience driving tractors, excavators and forklifts.

    I have a range of skills but am not an expert at anything. I have worked as a designer, machineist (laths and mills), self employed welder (MIG and TIG, my MMA(arc) welding is strong but ugly.). I worked for a charity helping to fit out a display bus and travelled with them supporting events around England. I have done basic woodwork, worked as an aircraft re-fueller and did an apprenticeship in aircraft maintenance (airframes and engines). I've also done a bit of blacksmithing but just as a hobby.

    I work alone a lot, but much prefer to be part of a team. I race with a dragonboat crew, and last summer trained as a race helm to coach and helm novice paddlers at a charity race event.

  • Languages spoken

    english

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback