Olivia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antarctica, Egypt, Fiji, French Polynesia, Greece, India, Indonesia, Morocco, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 30/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    No surprise here, I love to travel! I’m an ESL teacher and freelance writer based in Hawai'i, USA. I’ve been exploring for the last 4 years on and off, volunteering, teaching, camping, and backpacking. I've been to 49 U.S. states and 10 countries, learning languages, observing cultures and lifestyles, and developing new skills.

    Particularly interested in furthering my knowledge in these areas: cooking (especially plant-based meals), farming, teaching, yoga, construction, environmental conservation, and water sports.

    However, anything a host can teach me, I would love to learn. I am a fast learner and love trying new things. I have enough common sense and experience that I can be left to work independently with little supervision, but also enjoy working alongside others.

    Long story short, I'm easy-going, open-minded, and ready to help out with whatever you need :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    In past workaways I've: built houses, constructed a bathroom and sewage line for a community, taught English, worked in restaurants, taken care of a garden, bartended, worked on a ship, painted a mural, developed software for a small business, worked in a vineyard, hosted events for guests, cared for farm animals, and babysat.

    Things I’m good at: teaching, yoga, piano, ukulele, swimming, public speaking, writing, editing, computers, crafts

    Certifications: CPR and first aid, Fire Safety and Training, TWIC, MMC, certified bartender, ESL experience

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Indonesian: Beginner

  • Age

    20

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      prefer to be vegetarian- willing to be flexible!

Photos

Ho Chi Minh, VIetnam.
Teaching ESL in Padang, Indonesia.
Gardening in New Zealand.
Teaching ESL in Hawai'i.
Building houses in the Dominican Republic.
Ethical elephant sanctuary in Cambodia.
Camping in Montana.

Feedback