Octavian & Mihaela

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Romania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/03/2019 - 01/01/2050

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    In brief, our story goes like this:
    Friends say we're on a very long gap year. :), our sons call us 'hippies' .... We had kids while very young, have run the rat race for many years, and when our two boys finished studies and were independent, we left it all behind and started a journey for self-discovery (better late than never). We called the first year of travelling "wandering" and it took us through many great places around India, Nepal, Malaysia, Cambodia, Thailand, etc... Have met amazing people - some travellers but mostly local people, from which we learned a lot! We also learned to appreciate the simplicity, to be humble, to open our hearts .... We called the second year 'vagabonding' ... We travelled slow, staying in a place for many weeks or months to allow us to embrace the local culture and to build friendships. We volunteered in many places for food and accommodation; what an amazing way to live with local families and be part of the global village.
    We feel a tiny bit wiser, more compassionate and kind, a lot happier and with a clearer purpose for life. Our journey has allowed us to slow down and search inwardly, but the search never stops. Rather than looking for more experiences, we try to find value in less, to declutter our minds and to find peace and wisdom.
    After three years we have decided to settle down and put to good use our re-discovered values. We want to be more generous and grateful, to live simply, to share, to love, to live in harmony with nature, to be more present and more in touch with our instincts... to allow for that elusive consciousness to manifest fully. And to maintain that 'vagabonding' spirit, whatever we do and wherever we are.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching (Mihaela is a former Maths teacher, also worked in child care, Octavian is a former ski instructor, we taught English in Japan), we're both keen gardeners, very interested in permaculture (completed course in forest gardening, currently taking the Certificate in Permacuture Design course and we had our own allotment in the UK; also involved in many WorkAway projects involving gardening and permaculture), DIY / maintenance, decorating and house improvements, Eco-projects, marketing including online, hospitality (volunteering in a Yoga retreat in Australia, etc), and sports (ski, running, yoga, martial arts). Business development from working with start ups and larger companies.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Romanian, French

  • Age

    55 & 54

  • Nationality

    Romanian / British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We don't eat meat

Profile is connected to:

2Adventurers


Photos

Feedback