Nick

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Spain - from Sep 2022 until Nov 2022
    View all
  • Description

    I'm a 26-year-old guitar builder/ design freelancer from the Netherlands that has been planning to make a lifestyle change for a couple of years now. In 2021 I quit my job at an electric guitar factory and started freelancing, traveling and workaway'ing. During a total of 9 months of traveling (France, Spain, Portugal) I stayed at 8 different Workaway locations, usually for a minimum of 2 weeks to a maximum of 2 months. After all this experience gained, I am ready to start looking for a quinta/ finca of my own to rebuild in either Northern Spain or Portugal. I am mostly looking for a place where I can start my own woodworking shop to go back to building guitars or furniture/ design products.

    I'm mostly interested in bigger building projects at the moment. I have experience with renovating an old stone ruin (pointing, stonework, concrete pouring, eco-construction) and with wooden constructions, roofing, and laying floor beams. Any interesting projects to expand these skills would be ideal. Furniture making, interiors, kitchens, cabinets and finer woodwork is also very welcome.

    I enjoy nature and the outdoors, I like cycling and hiking, making music, creating, building. I have a lot of experience in working at a woodworking shop and handling machines and tools like the bandsaw, table saw, drill press, belt-sander, but also the CNC, 3D printer, or laser cutter.

    I'll be carrying my self-built guitar with me while traveling, so would really like to meet other players on the road and make music together! Will also be available to give guitar/ music lessons!

    In general, I'm a calm, relaxed, and respectful person. Practical and straightforward as the Dutch tend to be. Motivated to work and learn about alternative lifestyles, sustainability, self-sufficiency, and gardening. Also looking for a place where I have the space and a bit of time to work from my laptop so a Wi-Fi connection and a table to sit at anywhere on the property would be ideal. I'm traveling in my tiny little Renault Twingo so a parking spot nearby would also be preferred. Willing to do pickups or lend my car if necessary.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Photography
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I have focussed on learning Portuguese the last year, not anywhere near the level where I want to be or should be so would love to learn and practice some more. Also looking to learn Spanish. Can teach Dutch & English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Languages

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Graduated Industrial Designer from the TU Delft
    Worked as a guitar builder/ designer since graduation so lots of practical experience in building, woodworking, crafting, handling tools and machines. Also somewhat skilled in metalworking and electronics.

    Longtime guitar player. Wouldn't call myself a musician but capable to noodle on a guitar for hours :)
    Relatively green fingers for a city guy. Doing some city gardening and composting at home.

    Also good with computers, social media, websites, and digital design software like Photoshop & Illustrator. Like to practice my drawing and graphic design some more. Experience in website making as well, have a look on www.nvanbalken.com :)

    Language-wise I speak fluent English & Dutch

  • Age

    26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Preferably Vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback