Nora

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Sweden

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    In "real" life ;) I am a teacher. But in september I started my sabbatical. So now I want to use the year to clear my head, do something different and to get to know Sweden and its culture and people. I love meeting new people, cultures and languages and (as a language teacher) finding similarities, familiarity and fun in the words we speak.
    Before, during and after my studies I spend a year in Paris, France as an Au-Pair, one in the near of Québec, Canada as a volunteer in a school and 5 months in the Caribbean in Martinique to study. Ever since I started listening to the swedish radio station "Bandit Rock" (in 2007) I wanted to live in Sweden and learn that beautiful language. 3 years ago I started a language cours and here I am :)

  • Interests

    Nature
    Dancing
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Technology
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    My family lived for quite some time in an old mill. So there were always things to be fixed, painted, cut or planted. I do not have some special training, but I want to work, whatever there is to be done. Like my father I like to work with wood. At my school I had a little schoolgarden for my class. While I worked in a waldorfschool I learned a lot of new skills in working with wood, tissue, paper...
    And I love to organise ;) As waldorfschools are "selfgoverned" by teachers I took over a lot of organising tasks in the office or in the teacherconferences.
    My focus for this year is to learn new stuff and WORK.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    My goal is to dream in swedish ;)

  • Age

    37

  • What else ...

    I like listening to music (singing mostly in the car or the shower ;), reading crime novels and about science (human body, universe or our planet) or visiting cities (with museums, cafés,...).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      mild intolerance to nuts and seeds (mustard, sunflower,...)

Photos

Feedback