Nicolas

  • Brazil
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Facebook verified

Friends (5)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    I have no belly button, yet I'm not an alien nor was I delivered by a stork.
    I'm actually a very unique being, put together by a small little Mexican and a great Dane.
    For such a collaboration to take place, some of the values of this couple were the love for other cultures and travel. These were nurtured in me throughout my upbringing, and to the day, I cannot sit still. I need to continuously keep exploring our planet.

    Since I quit my office job in late 2017, I have been travelling and living abroad. Many of the jobs that I took upon myself were in the tourism sector, and most of them offered through workaway. I worked at the reception and/or bar of different hostels. Being well travelled and speaking several languages made it easy to make the guests feel at home. Otherwise, this was also done by introducing them to other guests and involving them in any of the activities that were being run by us or other parties. I know how important the first (and last) impressions are but it also comes naturally because I always want my guests to leave with the best impression of the place and people. The hospitality service cannot always be premium, thus I have also learned to deal with unsatisfied costumers and acting as a problem solver.

    In early 2019, I moved to Mexico to become a sailor. The period since I left my office job has helped me take the decision that I should embrace my career – to be an adventurer. One of the first things I did to celebrate this decision was to sail the North Atlantic with a crew and boat I had not met before.

    Since the crossing, I've been doing a winter season in the Alps working as a tour guide. A challenging but grand experience that was cut short by the pandemic. After a 2020, where plans have been completely distorted I finally came to the realisation that no plan is a good plan. I'm back in Mexico, trying to find my home here until humanity finds a way of living with the pandemic and things can readjust themselves towards the new normal.

    I'm moving to La Paz, because #lavidaesmássabrosaenelmar, and where I plan to live on a sail boat and volunteer on diverse nature conservation projects. I haven't landed any yet, so please send them my way!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    English teaching
    Cleaning
    Photography
    Gardening
    Receptionist
    Languages (French, English, Spanish, Danish and beginner Portuguese)
    Cooking
    Public relations

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    Danish / Mexican

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.