Nicola

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! I am a young-minded languages teacher from the beautiful Lake District. I love films,walking,dancing, horse-riding, reading and am also very interested in complementary therapies, meditation and energy healing. I can offer Reiki ( currently completing my level 3 Reiki), Reflexology and Indian Head Massage.
    I am a bubbly,flexible,independent,friendly,hard-working, kind person who has always loved travelling and learning languages. I am currently teaching myself Spanish and have recently travelled and volunteered in S America. By far my best volunteering experience was with a now dear friend Lety in Peru. She runs an equine therapy project with children. I was so lucky to be able to work with her and her team. I would love to get involved with a similar community based project, ideally with children and or animals,ideally horses, at its heart. I have loved teaching (and have expanded my skills by completing a TEFL course) but now want to try to make a difference in a different way/in a different place.
    I have most recently had the privilege to be able to work with Claire Waldron and Rachel Bedingfield of Cortijo de Segura (see Facebook page and website-Positive Horsemanship- for information on their wonderful work with rescue horses and opening up the world of connection training and positive horsemanship with others). Inspired by this trip, I spent a month in Asturias, Spain, at a donkey rescue. The donkeys were such characters. I love the northern coast of Spain and and have visited this area several times-must be something about the climate!
    I am also more than happy to do house/animal sits!
    Please feel free to ask for further information or clarification.
    Looking forward to hearing from you!
    As well as some lovely reviews on workaway,I have been very touched to receive several very kind reviews from airbnb hosts, which hopefully give some sort of idea of who I am! (Helpex host review is included in the 'Skills' section.)
    1) Nicola es verdaderamente una peculiar persona, llena de energía, alegre y simpática, con una fuerza de voluntad extrema en esforzarse para hablar Español y que deriva en un habla perfecta. Siempre dispuesta a entablar una conversación y con mucha curiosidad por conocer el entorno. Nos sentimos muy cómodos con ella, rápidamente te hace sentir como una amiga o alguien muy cercana y familiar, es ordenada y muy educada. Un huésped muy recomendable.
    2)Una mujer encantadora Nicola. Estupenda viajera y curiosa de la lengua y la cultura. Muy positivo haberla conocido.
    3)Nicola is a charming guest and was easy to host , honest and open ,clean and tidy I wish her lots of fun on her travels and she would be welcome here anytime
    4)Una chica muy comunicativa y agradable
    5)Una chica muy simpatica y sociable, hemos estado encantados con ella, muy educada y limpia, y respeto los horarios de llegada y de salida. Muy recomendable
    6)The experience with Nicola have been sweet and interested. She has a young spirit, full of curiosity and desire to discover... Asturias is the best place to enjoy the pure nature and the wild coast!! thanks you to arrive here and share!! See you soon!!
    7)Sadly we only hosted Nicola for one night during her travels of Andalusia but even in that brief meeting, she showed her charm and sense of humour, and we enjoyed her company very much.
    8)Fantástica huésped. Es una persona joven llena de ilusiones y cargada de energía. Absolutamente encantadora, super-respetuosa y educada. Le damos la medalla de "Super Guest". Gracias por ser tan encantadora :-) 100% recomendada para cualquier alojamiento que Nicola escoja. Un abrazo, M. Luisa, Marta y María
    9)Nicola es estupenda Tiene muy buen humor y le encanta jugar con las palabras. Hemos pasado unos dias muy simpaticos y seguro que estareis encantados de conocerla. Yo espero que vuelva pronto para compartir más buenos ratos!
    10)Nicola has been a great guest: easy-going and friendly. She stayed for 2 nights only but we got to have a few conversations.She is very a adventurous and brave woman.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a qualified teacher of French and German and also hold a TEFL qualification.I am very comfortable around children and animals-see my review from a previous help-ex host (now friend), for whom I have worked on three occasions at her Natural Horsemanship project- 'We had a very nice time with Nicola and were all sad for her to leave! She is hard working, responsible and great fun to be around. She has a wonderful attitude with children and animals. Horses were very comfortable around her. Nicola is also a great cook! We don't want Nicola to go to any other helpex place, we want her to come back!' (though she is exaggerating about the cooking!). NB Helka is committed to Natural Horsemanship methods and opened me up to this world.
    I am now a Reiki master, so can offer Reiki to humans and animals! I can also offer basic reflexology and Indian Head Massage as well as teaching English, French, Spanish and German.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I can teach French, German and Spanish. I am most interested in improving my Spanish, but am also thinking of branching into Portuguese.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    57

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am ideally looking for somewhere rural, surrounded by nature and preferably to work with/around animals.

    I am currently teaching myself Spanish and would love the opportunity to practise while immersing myself in the culture and country! I am very much at home with animals, particularly horses and also love children.Being a teacher (and mum!) I am patient and fun-loving.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      no meat

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback