Nicola

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Netherlands, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/01/2019 - 30/09/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    I am:
    a minimalist and a naturalist
    a day dreamer and a creator
    driven by my curiosity and wanderlust
    extremely independent and adventuresome
    determined and self motivated
    a fitness and outdoors enthusiast
    generous and genuine

    my interests include; yoga, rockclimbing, hiking, gardening, herbs, making oils, reading, painting. I try to lead a healthy and active lifestyle with lots of creativity and friends.

    I have been workingaway for the most part of 5 years. It is a great way to give back and travel and see the world. i really believe in the concept and have had amazing experiences and met wonderful people.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can communicate well with others, am a patient person, and learn quickly. I don't need to be told more than once what to do, and enjoy working by myself or in a team if needed. I would love to teach english with my people skills and the yearning to help people know my native language to prepare them for the future. I have my TEFL certification with 240 hours. I love to cook/prepare, garden, and have extensive knowledge in health and fitness and psychology. I love manual labor so I get my workout in at the same time as my duties, i.e farm work. I have a bachelors in Fine Art from the University of California, Berkeley. I love to do art, decorate, paint, draw, make jewelry, craft, and write. I am such a handy man I love making new things and repairing old things. i also like to work out every day and be as healthy as possible for the best life possible. My favourite activities include rock climbing, hiking, running, doing yoga, swimming, body surfing, weight lifting and pretty much anything getting your heart pumping! I have been practicing yoga for 10 years and also teach.
    linkedin.com/nicolagar
    linkedin.com/yiannichar

  • Languages spoken

    english, spanish

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    American & Portuguese

  • What else ...

    "We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us"

    I am not looking to volunteer because it makes you a good person. I am volunteering as a way of life. To be a service to the community and use my time to help others as well as gain beautiful experiences, knowledge and friendship. I believe I can volunteer around the world, live in many places, be involved in communities and really dive into a place learning about the culture. I think traveling is short term, though I am just living, place to place, staying where I feel connected with, and leaving when it feels right. I have no timeline, I am purely looking to enjoy life, learn interesting things in different lands, connect with travelers and locals alike, and inspire people to do the same. I believe that I am living proof that you do not have to work the 9-5 cubicle job forever and be miserable to make ends meat, you can live the life, the life that is enriching, fulfilling, and intriguing. The life that you are proud of, with many stories to tell, and many friends to share those stories with.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Profile is connected to:

yiannisx


Photos

hiking in new zealand!
exploring shrines in kyoto, japan
drinking some coconut water in cancun, mexico
hiking volcanos in nicaragua

Feedback