Simon

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/09/2017 - 03/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    161

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hej! My name is Simon. I grew up in Wisconsin in the United States, but for the past 2 years I have studied bioengineering at the University of California, Los Angeles. Currently, I am in Sweden on exchange for one term at Lund University.
    I joined Workaway because I thrive on new experiences and meeting people with different life stories than my own. My first Workaway experience was outstanding; the work was fun and fascinating, and my hosts and fellow Workawayer were engaging and kind - exactly the sort of people I love getting to know.
    My education has pushed me to be a problem solver, and I am always thinking about how tasks can be done more easily and efficiently. Beyond my engineering studies, I care deeply about the natural world and have worked on multiple sustainability endeavors, including setting up composting and recycling at my high school. I love being outside hiking, camping, climbing, backpacking, and cross country skiing. These activities have given me the mental and physical fortitude to overcome obstacles in all areas of life.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Competent using power and hand tools for woodworking projects
    Garden with friends in Los Angeles where we grow a variety of vegetables
    Play mandolin, violin, Irish flute, and tin whistle [working on banjo and guitar] (love to play with anyone!)
    Not afraid to get my hands dirty and work hard
    Team-player, but also can also work independently or lead when appropriate
    Problem solver and engineering mindset

  • Languages spoken

    English (native), Spanish (some), Swedish (beginner)

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian, but flexible if needed

Photos

Workaway in Los Angeles, California, USA
Cross country skate skiing (I like classic too!)
Backpacking shenanigans in Sequoia national park
Playing mandolin while camping on Santa Cruz Island
Beautiful pepper in me and my friends' garden!
Display case: example of woodworking project I have done (I didn't make the sword ;)
Me and a Spanish exchange student making Santa Lucia buns, a Swedish family tradition
On a mountain in the Sequoias
Eagle Scout project volunteers: ecological survey of nature preserve

Feedback