Neil

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2019 - 31/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    91

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi,
    I am a 68-year old non-smoking, easygoing man with a good, sometimes quirky, sense of humour. I retired in 2016 and decided to travel. I have been doing Workaways, house sitting, and Workaway-like situations with friends for the last three years.
    My work history has been varied. I had a couple of small businesses, managed restaurants, dabbled in carpentry and, most recently, I retired from TomTom after working as a research analyst for fifteen years.
    As of November, 2019, I have volunteered with Workaway hosts in Europe, UK, Morocco, Vietnam, and Australia. I am presently ending a house sitting situation in Yorkshire, UK. I will be house sitting again in mid-December in southern England.
    At that point, I may return to the US for a few months. It is likely that I will be back in Europe / UK next summer. I will probably search for more Workaway opportunities then.
    All the best,
    Neil

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have done carpentry, worked in hospitality, and done computer research. I majored in English in college. I have excellent written and spoken grammar skills. I think I work very well with students who are trying to practice their English pronunciation skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    69

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am able to get along with just about anyone. I look for the humor in everything. I enjoy interacting with people, but I don't have to be entertained all the time. I also know how to respect a person's privacy. I look forward to making many more Workaway friends.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback