June

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/02/2020 - 30/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Dear hosts,

    My name is June, an active, sporty and energetic Chinese from New Zealand. I have an in-depth understanding of Western and Eastern cultures, am thoughtful, respectful and considerate, and I get along with people from all walks of life. A capable, independent and self-possessed individual, I'm adventurous and flexible and I adapt to new environments easily. I am eager to learn new skills and concepts.

    My professional background is in Sales & Marketing and in Education. Before leaving New Zealand I worked in a government-owned tertiary institute marketing New Zealand as the study destination to Chinese students. I have many years teaching experience as an assistant teacher and tutor of Mandarin Chinese for evening community education programmes.

    10 years ago, while backpacking in Europe, I fell in love with this continent. Hearing languages that I don't understand fascinates me. Right now, I'm learning French and German passionately. I admire ancient historical buildings and value traditional lifestyles, techniques and wisdom; for example, the know-how to fully utilise available resources to recycle, reuse and reduce waste. I am curious and open-minded, and I am interested in different beliefs and outlooks on life.

    During my travel & work, I have babysat in Finland, worked on a pemaculture farm in France, managed in a Bed and Breakfast in Switzerland, and worked in a wide range of hospitality tasks in a retreat in Belgium.
    I'm well organised, have a strong work ethic and I work on tasks efficiently and with dedication. You won't hear me complaining that the work is too much or too hard.

    People like my cooking though I don't consider cooking is my forte. I can cook for non-picky eaters like me. I have a healthy lifestyle and appreciate everything homegrown and homemade.

    I have good inter-personal skills, am friendly and polite. I prefer to listen than to talk. You can trust and count on me to provide valuable service in your home and business.

    I host a radio program for my community public radio station in New Zealand. While traveling, I interview people I encountered along the way seeking their wisdom and insight about meaningful work and fulfilled life. You could be my guest :)

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Greetings, June

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Managing Bed and Breakfast, teaching languages - English and Mandarin Chinese, childminding, working with children with special needs, elderly care, housekeeping, cooking, waitressing, Facebook marketing (posting), admin, reception and customer service.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent English and Mandarin Chinese, un peu Français, ein bisschen Deutsche

  • Age

    48

  • Nationality

    New Zealander

  • What else ...

    I have a New Zealand driver's licence, automatic car only.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm allergic to cigaret smoke

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback