Tomáš & Martina

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 15/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    315

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are currently looking for volunteering opportunities for April-May 2020.

    Although we have a couple account, we want to spend the first 3 months of 2020 separately. Martina has already found a workaway opportunity in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada and Tomas is looking for a workaway near Silicon Valley, California, USA.

    We are a young couple originally coming from a small town called Prachatice in the south of the Czech Republic. Before moving to Canada we had lived in Prague for seven years. Our motivation is to travel around the world, meet interesting people, and have fun. We have travelled together to many countries, for instance, India, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kuwait and so on. We usually travel at a low cost – hitchhiking, hostels and so on. In spite of living in a city, we love the countryside as well as hiking with friends of ours.

    We have lived in Canada since last July because of Tomas’s internship at a university in Montreal. We had stayed in Montreal until the end of 2019.

    Tomas:
    I am an electrical engineer doing a PhD at the Czech Technical University in Prague in the field of satellite communications. I am also working in a laboratory as a specialist in printed circuit board assembly and metal construction. My main hobbies are travelling, cycling, learning languages and photography. I also consider myself good at working with kids - as the oldest of 5 siblings (three of them are much younger than me) I have a lot of experience in teaching and adventure with kids and I love it. During my childhood and teens, I was a scout and later a leader at scout camps. I have already had a fantastic workaway experience from Scotland where I have been twice in one place.

    Martina:
    I have studied Economics, and now I work as a housekeeper in a hotel in Montreal. My hobbies are travelling, music (I play the violin, flute), hiking, crafting (sewing, making decorations, restoring furniture,... I like working with my hands :)) and spending time at our cottage in a village. I enjoy playing the violin in a Czech folklore band.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We both have experience with house maintenance, gardening and general works in the countryside. Tomas also worked as a bartender in a hotel whereas Martina used to work as a receptionist in a dormitory and as a campground manager.

    Tomas’s professional skills are soldering, programming, low voltage electronics and work with typical office software. I used to work as a carpenter and a bricklayer during summer seasons. Experience from the previous volunteering is especially general maintenance and carpentry. I love chopping firewood!

    Martina’s professional skills are accounting, work with office and accounting software, she has experience with web design, reception and a hotel housekeeping. I worked at gardening and cafe as my summer job as well and I can cook. I have experience with babysitting of my two little nephews (3,5).

  • Languages spoken

    English, Czech, a little bit of German

  • Age

    28 & 30

  • Nationality

    Czech Republic

  • What else ...

    We are open-minded people looking forward to spending time with great hosts and contribute to their project, family, business, whatever. Our aim is also to improve our English to advance level.

    When we search for a new workaway we always read your profile carefully and do research of the area to be sure it works for us. We do not text to dozens of profiles at the same time. Therefore, we prefer an individual conversation based on trust. :-)

    In case you think we would be right partners for you, do not hesitate to contact us.

    We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    Tomas & Martina

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Hitchhiking in Kosovo.
Khiva, Uzbekistan
We love wild camping.
Traveling in Tajikistan
Kyrgyzstan

Feedback