Moritz

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/11/2019 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi
    My Name is Moritz and I am traveling this beautiful country since November 2019.
    I am originally from Germany and 21 years old.
    Currently I am traveling New Zealand with my Girlfriend Maria who I met during my journey around the South Island.
    Two weeks after I came to NZ I had my first woofing experience.
    It was on a isolated mountain farm in Kaikoura.
    I was living with an family (three young kids) together for 4 weeks.
    It was one of my best experiences I had so far.
    I have learned so much during this time and the host took me goat hunting (I shot two goats)
    I spend a lot of time with the children (oldest 4 years old) and we got very close.
    After another workaway Farm I met Maria and together we woofed on 4 more farms.
    Also during the covid-19 Lockdown, which was so far my last woofing/workaway experience. After the Lockdown I worked in paid jobs for example 4 months fishing boat unloading in Nelson, construction work in Queenstown and Cherry Picking and Apple Picking in Alexandra for half a year for central organics, to fund my travels.
    In between the work we traveled all over the South Island.
    I love big changing multi day hikes and being out in nature for a long period away from stressful civilisation, Internet etc.
    At least for a certain time:)
    In the last couple of months I got a little bit into freshwater fishing
    Currently I am in Queenstown
    After being together for more than a year basically all day long me and Maria decided to split up for a certain time to get the experience again of traveling alone.
    We both applied for the Australien Visa and counting on going to Australia after our stay here in nz.
    I am a very energetic person who loves the outdoors.
    I am passionate about all kind of outdoor sports like sea kayaking, skiing, fishing and hiking/climbing.
    Also I am a very Health oriented Person, with low interest in drugs, Alkohol etc.
    I am investing a lot of time and energy to get better in cooking healthy and delicious food. But I am on no diet or whatever.
    As long as the food is natural and no junk stuff I am eating basically everything and I am very interested in different food cultures.
    I want to know more about self sufficiency and hunting/fishing

    The year before I came to NZ I have worked as a volunteer in the institute of Avian Research (Wilhelmshaven, Germany). I had the chance to be in touch with a great scientific research atmosphere. It helped me to appreciate better the wonder of nature. Now I am looking forward for new experience in other natural environments. I like to meet new people of different cultures and to learn from them.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I really like physical work.

    During my stay in New Zealand I was working as a volunteer on 6 different farms (mostly woofing and one work away stay)
    During this stays I did a lot of different works like gardening, housekeeping, childcare, animal care, moving cows and sheep’s, building, fruit picking, cutting and stacking firewood,
    work in Hostel/Motel, sausage making, fencing, and all kind off farm jobs.
    I am pretty fast in learning how to use new working tools or during farm vehicles like quad bikes or digger.
    So, I have absolutely now problems with long stays outside and hard work.
    But I am also a quite flexible person when it’s comes to work.
    I like to experience something new so I am open to all different kinds of work
    I can be quite a perfectionist.
    If I really get into a certain job I want to do it perfect

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Yes, I have pollen allergy. But when it’s summer it’s there more or less all the time, so I don’ really care about that.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am eating almost everything as long as it is no junk stuff over long periods. I do eat a lot, especially if I am working physically!

Photos

Feedback