Evangeline

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    737

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Evangeline, but you can call me Eva. I recently graduated from university in Boston with a degree in International Affairs. Now, I want to throw myself out into the world and try tons of new things. I've lived in Georgia, Serbia, Russia, Hungary, Germany, and Ireland, and from all of this, my biggest takeaway has been that I really thrive outside my comfort zone. I love to travel and try new things- immersion is so exciting for me, I'm trying to embrace it whenever possible.
    My hobbies include dancing, knitting, reading, running, and just getting to know new people and cultures whenever I can. Everyone I meet has something new to teach me! So I'm really looking forward to following some new and exciting opportunities on workaway. I want to throw myself into some new situations and really get immersed, work hard, and learn a lot.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have experience in a few different areas, including teaching, advising, journalism, event planning, and website development. In 2016, I spent three months teaching English in Barnaul, Russia. I've also taught English at home in Boston, but to adults. Additionally, my English is not only native, but my grammar is correct and I speak with a standard American accent, so I'm always happy when I can contribute this to teaching/helping others. (I can also send my resume/CV if interested.)
    As a softer skill, I want to mention my appreciation of other cultures, people, and languages. When I travel, I try to get away from the tourist centers because I think that they dilute the culture into what other people want to see, instead of what it really is. I also have a lot of interest in both under-appreciated and historically suppressed cultures, especially in the former Soviet sphere. Someday, I think I'd like to work in international relations regarding Eastern Europe and Central Asia, so while I'm still young and a student, I want to see these countries as they are, through a real, present, and unbiased lens. :)
    I think it's also important to mention that anything I don't know yet, I'm eager to learn. Usually I'm a pretty fast learner, too. I love to throw myself into work and I have a lot of enthusiasm for new things. For example, when I moved to Germany, I had only been learning the language for a short time - but by practicing every day, even though it was very difficult, I improved quickly! I'm really proud of how far I've come and this kind of accomplishment just motivates me to push myself even further and try even more new things as they come.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, some Russian

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    I'm a hard worker, excited about the world, and completely open to new ideas and experiences. I can't wait to find out what's ahead!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

With my brother at home in Connecticut :)
Chilling with a friend in Oslo, Norway
Hiking in the Altai mountains, Russia
Happy in my hometown! I grew up in a small town in Connecticut, right on the beach :)
Two years ago, I went to Paris. It was my first international trip alone!
I worked in Ireland for three months in the Summer of 2015, and as you can see here, I made plenty of friends!

Feedback