Kit

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2020 - 17/12/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!
    I am a fit, healthy, passionate and ridiculously-humoured boy. I am super keen to learn as much as possible about all ways to live simply and self-sufficiently, and to regain individual empowerment through knowledge and experience!

    In thirty years I have been fortunate enough to travel many thousands of miles and find myself in a myriad of situations; some scary, some superb, some stagnant. As a youngster I took off on a 365 day journey through Asia and Oceania, WWOOFing and Couchsurfing, learning my abilities and testing the conditions of the world against my character. Upon returning, even after a little year away from friends and family, I felt so massively out of the loop of home life that I couldn't re-engage with it very well, and felt that the skills learned 'on the road' were rendered useless when in the comfort of settled living. I was strong, I was curious, I was aware, and I could not un-learn the things I had discovered while I was out there.

    The varied, far-flung and ever-interesting fifteen years that followed saw me journeying the world several times over, always finding a way to be useful and connect with real people wherever I went. In these thrilling years, (which I kept a diary of throughout) I developed a love of motorcycling, perfected my skills and nurtured my passion for wild camping, and learned a great deal about natural observance, food growing, building, fixing, and making the best of any situation! From gunpoint border crossing misunderstandings to peacefully swimming in bioluminescent plankton, I feel compelled to push myself out into these selcouth situations just to see what HAPPENS.
    So far, so so SO good!

    Despite the current international pandemonium, I met so many beautiful, inspiring people while I was motorcycle wild camping this summer in Scotland that I have decided to break out of the stasis, and see what's going on for myself. Exploration and investigation run strongly through my soul and I truly believe that the generosity, kindness and support that people have shown me in previous years around the world will not be hampered by fear, and that we can all adjust our styles of interaction to maintain the intrinsic elements of humanity; love and communication.

    It is my intention (flexibility expected) to take my beautiful, noisy old 1994 Suzuki "Midna" GN125 around Europe, visiting a few friends in between camping, working, volunteering and exploring the continent, with a vague idea to make a large clockwise loop, then aim for warmer southern countries as the end of the year approaches. I hope to take the ferry across the water from Spain to North Africa, then find some way of working my passage across the Atlantic Ocean to South America. If I find a way of taking the motorcycle across the ocean, I will be both surprised and ecstatic, however I feel that selling or storing her on this side and buying another one in South America may be more practical, and will allow me to discover what ancient mysteries this magnificent continent holds!

    I would much rather die living, and I think that by being as careful and conscientious as I always have been while travelling, I have a greater chance of finding those in need of help, comfort, companionship or a good old-fashioned helping hand! I love to work, to learn, and to share, and when you want something... well, let's hope the universe isn't too busy.

    No more satisfaction with mediocrity!
    No more comfortable dreaming!
    No more time to lose!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    TEFL Certificate- Three years' excellent experience teaching adults and children.
    Languages- Intermediate French and Beginner's Spanish in addition to English. Confident enough to try.
    Food Growing- Comprehensive experience in both small and large scale food cultivation. Could feed a village!
    Gardening- Broad understanding of plants, trees, and growing needs.
    Animal Care- Donkeys, horses, chickens, ducks, rabbits and geese, with some experience of sheep and cattle care.
    Wood Processing- from trunk to twig, my arm is strong!
    Carpentry and DIY- Intermediate skills in building and using most tools, great craft intuition.
    Leadership Skills- Very confident leading small and large groups, skilled in delegation and management.
    Outdoor Skills- A seasoned scout leader's knowledge of fire building, camping, foraging, shelter making, cooking, map reading and living off the land.
    Performance- Five years' university training in Acting and Physical Theatre, with experience teaching, holding workshops, and pretending to be all the different people I have met to make stories seem funnier!
    Art and Design- good experience creating and crafting.
    Teaching- If I can do it, then so can you. Very Strong experience teaching in many different styles. Keen to share.
    Cooking- Experience cooking small and large scale (200 meals, 3 times a day was my largest... so far!)
    Nutrition- As an add-on to cooking, I am aware of the value of a balanced diet and understand how to achieve this.
    Computer Skills- A 1980's child blessed with built-in knowledge of most technology. Things still break on me sometimes, and I never completed Donkey Kong Country. The shame of it.
    Drums- Ten years' experience drumming and teaching drum kit. Decent rhythm. Slightly deaf. May spontaneously combust.
    Housework- Ironing, dusting, vacuuming, mopping, polishing; very particular and exacting standards.
    Sewing- Needle and thread only, no experience with a machine as yet.
    First Aid- Basic understanding, and good understanding of proactive healthcare.
    Driving- I can drive almost anything from car to truck, and also have my motorcycle license and experience riding quad bikes. My motorcycle is an ideal learner bike too, so if you'd like a little try- why not!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I am a certified English teacher with experience helping both adults and children to improve their speaking, reading, and listening skills. Happy to learn more of any language!

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    I wish to re-empower humanity! Remind us that we are strong, dynamic, beautiful beings of infinite possibility and extreme resilience! Step away from the 'flix, the pizza delivery, the constant news... and let's see who we really are!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no thanks!

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat meat, and prefer to stay off dairy where possible.

Photos

Feedback