Monika

  • Slovakia (Slovak Republic)
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I'm currently located in Slovakia and I'm interested in doing literally any job. As long as I spend an unforgettable summer abroad, I will be happy!

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Monika and I'm from Slovakia, which is a little country in Central Europe. I'm a student, but to be more specific, I study translation & interpreting at the largest Slovak University.
    Even though I'm not sure if I want to become translator or interpreter in the future, I know that learning of languages fills me with joy. I think travelling is the best way to improve language skills and it's actually one of the reasons I want to participate on Workaway programme. Of course it's not the only reason! I would like to see different cultures and discover the ways people live in different parts of the world. I want to break the stereotype of everyday life, meet new people and have fun.
    Last year me and my friends were supposed to go to America to Work and Travel programme and we were also selected as one of the Red Bull Can You Make It? challenge teams, unfortunately because of COVID none of this happened. I have to say I was really sad at first, but I've learned to think positive and I believe that everything bad is good for something. I also believe this summer will be amazing and full of adventures.
    As for my free time, I like to do sports, especially swimming and playing tennis, reading books, but most importantly spending time with my family and friends. Those are the people that inspire me and make my world more beautiful. However sometimes, when I feel really overwhelmed, I need and enjoy time just for myself and my thoughts.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Outdoor activities
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    I think I have a lot to offer. I grew up in a big family with 5 older siblings. We have a big house with even bigger garden so I'm used to do and help with all kinds of house work. And not just that. During high school I worked as a waitress on weekends. I liked this job because it was right next to my house, I got to know a lot of people from village in which I'm living, but mainly because it has taught me a lot. I must say that waitress' work was great basis for what I am doing now and in general for polite and friendly communication with people.

    My language skills:
    Slovak - fluent
    Czech - fluent
    English - upper-intermediate
    Italian - upper-intermediate
    Finnish - pre-intermediate
    Spanish - beginner

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Finnish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would like to improve my language skills mainly in Finnish and in return I could teach Slovak.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I would like to mention that even though I have a car licence, I'm a little scared of driving, because I don't own a car so I didn't have a chance to practise. However my future goal is to buy a car and start driving more.

    I would also like to mention that I love playing board and card games :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback