Mona

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/02/2018 - 01/09/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Please let me introduce myself. My name is Mona Lisa and I am traveling through Central America hoping to help environmentally conscious and social organizations and projects as well as learn new skills and learn about myself and people along the way.

    My Background:

    I am 29 year old Canadian born Egyptian living in Toronto, Canada. I was recently working as a full time pharmacist and pharmacy manager in Toronto ON. As well, I work as a Teaching Assistant at the University of Toronto and as Clinical Pharmacist at a hospital. I currently work with youth, adults and elderly with physical and mental health issues. I also help maintain various health education online platforms and websites as well as my current travel blog using wordpress.com.

    Opportunities I am seeking:
    To be submersed in a Latin American environment that I can contribute to socially, physically and professionally as a responsible socialite, health care promoter/first aid responder, Swedish Massage therapist, avid traveler, teacher and learner as well as any way that the organization needs me! I hope to be partnered with a friendly, social and environmentally conscious organizations and projects that I can help maintain and grow during my time there.

    Along with my skills I will discuss shortly I am well rounded and willing to work hard and contribute in anything requiring help including ; front desk, house cleaning, helping with excursions, kayaking tours, environment projects, yoga, cleaning, gardening/construction, bartending/waitressing, first aid /clinic, marketing, online outreach etc. Whether it's reception,
    talking with our guests to see how their stay is going and help them plan there stay. I am definitely, as you will see from my reference from my current work-away host, not scared to spark a conversation with anyone, make new friends and be excited and get guests excited about their visit to the beautiful town. Also I am very excited to help with marketing, website and blog development etc! I have experience with my own travel blog as well as developing and maintaining my work website and online educational platform back in Canada. With everything, I will always bring good positive energy at the same time as being responsible.

    What am I up to now?:
    Currently I am doing a work-away exchange in Lake Atitlan, Guatemala at a Boutique Lodge. I have established a good business as a professional Swedish massage therapist here at the lodge. Recently I have gotten quite a high demand for my massages and have given 1-2 massages per day in the past 3 weeks. I can offer massage therapy at any of my workaways. This always draws guests for its appealing relaxation and healing properties as well as profit for the organization from a portion of the massages!

    Along with this I am balancing working 5-6 hr a day at the lodge in front desk, organizing trips, cooking, cleaning, greeting guests etc. I also attend Spanish classes and write in my travel blog during my spare time. Guests, as well as the owner, are very happy with my work as a masseuse as well as a well rounded volunteer. I have a few reviews on Trip Advisor that mention me by name from guests that enjoyed their interaction with myself during their time here at the lodge. As well, the owner of the lodge is more than happy to provide a very positive reference for me and her self wants me to come back in the near future :)

    I also have a travel blog ; monaaventuras.wordpress.com that I have kept up during my travels. I would hope you have a chance to read some of the posts.

    About my personality and skills:
    I am active and flexible to help out wherever I can and wherever I am needed, outside and inside. I am a quick learner naturally as well as through my 9 years at college. I have experience in marketing and managing my own business as a pharmacist, running a health clinic, doing research in the lab as well as hiking through advanced terrain through my travels. I am a lovable and loving social person who wants to travel the world and at the same time contribute to the community. My friends describe me as their favorite person to vent to, not judge full of smiles, adventurous and in love with life.

    Why choose me:
    I am very friendly, easy going and I have a talent for getting along with everyone, keeping the energy up and staying active along the way. I can encourage people to have fun and work hard. I have had experience in managing people and being on a team through my years as a pharmacy manager as well as an active member of my social community. I am reliable and punctual and willing to work hard for the generous compensation of accommodation, meals etc.

    I speak fluent English and Arabic and have been taking Spanish courses throughout my travels. I must interact with the staff here in Lake Atitlan only in Spanish therefore I have experience in getting by in a kitchen with only Spanish speaking workers. One of my passions is to become fluent in the beautiful Spanish language and I am willing to learn and practice whenever I can. I am an avid traveler and also have extensive experience in managing a business, building websites and being a responsible business owner. I also have been blessed with travelling through Africa, Europe, North America and for the next 6 months hoping to travel through Central and South America.

    Interests:
    Being outdoors, building relationships, contributing and being productive in society, traveling (of course), being emerced in a new culture, learning new languages, soccer, volleyball, playing the violin, cooking, being with friends and family, singing, dancing, reading, writing, painting, kayaking, swimming.

  • Type of help

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Aide aux personnes âgées
    Cuisine / courses
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

  • What skills do you have?

    Skills:
    -Professional Swedish Masseuse
    -Wordpress
    -First Aid and CPR certified
    -Beginner/Intermediate Surfer
    -PADI Diving Certification (expected date May 1st/2018)
    -People friendly/Interpersonal/Easy Going
    -Social interaction and Hospitality
    -Organized and Punctual
    -Pharmacist by training -full time for the last 3 years
    -Teaching experience x 4 years
    -Fluent in English and Arabic
    -Beginner Spanish, passionate to become fluent
    -Avid traveler and kayaker
    -Gardening and learning about plantlife
    -Experience in Marketing, Outreach and Business Management
    -Experience in Wordpress and Microsoft
    -Physically active
    -Quick at learning
    -Experience in being a team leader/member through 9 years of collage and 3 years of full time work at a pharmacy and in the hospital
    -Experience in creating work shops, presentations and training on various topics

  • Languages spoken

    English, Arabic, Hoping to Learn Spanish

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback