Moe

  • Japan
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Tanzania - from Jul 2022 until Aug 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello, my name is Moe Honda from Yokohama, Japan.

    I am now an exchange student at Linköping University, Sweden, and going to exchange at Malta University next semester.

    I lived in Stockholm, Sweden for 2 years when I was in kindergarten and currently lived in Akita, one of the most rural cities in Japan.

    - about my travel
    I love traveling around the world especially in the countryside in both developing and developed countries. By experiencing the local life in an environment with a lot of nature, I get a lot of energy, and I am excited from the bottom of my heart.

    Since I enter university, I became obsessed with visiting developing countries.
    For example, I visited Nepal for three weeks and Kenya for a month.

    In Nepal, I helped the local NGO which focuses on environmental issues and environmental education. I taught cleaning culture at Japanese schools and environmental issues in some elementary and middle schools.

    During my stay in Kenya, I was a member of a project which focused on sex education and investigating the issue of FGM (Female Genital Mutilation) in the countryside. Our team visited many houses, a hospital, and a police office for interviewing about the FGM situation and also did some sex education to the local children.

    - my family
    I am only a child and my family also loves traveling, camping and gardening. Until I became a university student and leave my house, we often go camping, more than two times a year.
    I live in an urban city but, since my father and grandfather love gardening, we had a pretty nice garden in our house. We grow a lot of vegetables, fruits, and flowers.

    - about my uni life back in Japan
    I am quite a tough person and like to be busy. Since my university is in the countryside, I tried to interact with local people and companies a lot.

    For instance...
    - travel a lot and discover the place
    - joining local community events in the several villages
    - do volunteering on a rice farm, renovation of an old house, and more
    - supporting to create of the renewal version of the website of the local coil factory
    - supporting social media marketing of local ice cream brand

    The interesting story here is that when I travel to one city alone, I become friends with the owner of the hotel and we went to dinner together on the first day we met. I love to interact and discover a lot of lovely places in my prefecture.

    As I mentioned, my university is in Akita prefecture, which is one of the most rural places in Japan. One of my goals during my life in university is to make my friends obsessed with this lovely prefecture. Many of my friends in urban cities say "Why are you going to such a boring place? There is nothing, right?" I strongly disagree with those opinions. I know a lot of fascinating places, people and nature. So, I am trying to use my Instagram account to show how life in the countryside is interesting.

    I have already changed many surrounding's minds and my next step is to widen the target to Japanese youth, which is related to my future goal.

    - my future goal

    My future goal is to lessen the negative image of the countryside in both developing and developed countries in Japan by using social media. Still, I am struggling a lot, but I would like to improve my future plan by utilizing the experience in Workaway.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Music
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Animal Care
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    -childcare
    I personally also love children, so I would play with them as much as I could. One of the most memorable moments for me was when I visited a slum in Nepal and met a child about two years old. She didn't want me to leave and cried so much that her parent decided to follow me for lunch so that she can stay with me for longer.

    Don't have well knowledge but have experience in gardening and DIY such as painting the wall in a slum.

    -photography
    I love to explore around the world and take photos. Since I would like to use my photography skill in the future, I am studying a lot about it by myself.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback