Morgan

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria, Moldova, Republic of, Romania, Ukraine

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/03/2020 - 31/05/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Morgan! I grew up in a very small town in New Jersey, but I studied at university in New York. Since graduating, I have been very fortunate to spend several years traveling and exploring this beautiful world. During this time, I have explored many parts of Europe, Central Asia, Central America, and the Caucasus. I see travel as an opportunity to learn about the world, understand new cultures, and get to know other people, so I love traveling slowly and spending a long time in one place. In fact, I loved Kyiv, Ukraine so much that I arrived as a tourist and ended up staying for over two years renting a room with a babushka!

    My family has been very involved in WorkAway as my parents often host volunteers in their home (their profile is: https://www.workaway.info/951477983469-en.html ). I have been in their home during many of these visits, and I have been so inspired by the relationships they have developed with their volunteers and the ways that they are able to work together that I have decided to finally try for myself :) I am also motivated by the opportunity to contribute to the communities where I travel rather than to simply visit, consume, and leave.

    I work online teaching math and SAT/ACT prep to students in the United States, so this means that a few nights a week I will need to work. Due to the time difference, this will not interfere with any work obligations to you or most social time - just my sleep ;) However, it does require me to make Skype calls fairly late in the evening; I do not want to disturb you or your sleep, so please let me know if this would be an inconvenience to your lifestyle!

    Presently I am traveling with Dom Hester (he's a WorkAway veteran and a total pro!). Our current travel plans are to spend March and April in Romania, but we are open to opportunities in nearby countries. Then back to Ukraine to visit friends!

    While I mention in my dietary requirements that I am a vegetarian, I also understand that meat and fish are integral components of many diets around the world. Though I prefer not to eat meat, I am fine being near it and cooking it, and I am happy to cook vegetarian meals for myself or to share :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My main work experience is in education and youth leadership. I have taught math, test prep, and English to both native speakers and English language learners, and I specialize in helping high school age students navigate and succeed in the university admissions process. It is very important to me to guide students along the paths they want based on their unique personalities and goals, and I strive to help them develop and maintain pride in their cultural background rather than encourage assimilation into an Americanized perspective. In addition to my work, for several years I volunteered to design, organize, and run a local camp to foster community relationships. I designed the curriculum; coordinated with volunteers, parents, and local organizations; and directed activities for children aged 3 to 17.

    I very much enjoy gardening as a hobby and have helped my parents create and maintain their beautiful gardens. Additionally, I earned my Girl Scout Gold Award at a local historical museum where I was responsible for researching, designing, and constructing a historically accurate herb garden as one of their exhibits. I have further experience farming, having spent several months working on an organic farm in Guatemala growing various vegetables and, of course, maize. While in Guatemala, I also volunteered planting coffee seedlings and working at a reforestation project to rectify mudslide damage.

    I love working with animals and have raised puppies as guide dogs for the blind for The Seeing Eye Foundation and helped take care of baby sheep at a neighbor's farm. In university, I performed conservation work and research on a local population of endangered turtles where my responsibilities included tracking the turtles through the swamps daily in every type of weather to observe nesting events and protect the turtles' eggs.

    Additionally, I am comfortable with painting, yard-work, cleaning, cooking, and helping around the house. I am always eager to learn new skills, and I will do my best to accomplish any task you have!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Ukrainian: Fluent

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    Thank you for taking the time to read my profile :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian - I don't eat meat or seafood. Other animal products are okay!

Photos

In my favorite Kyiv <3
Preparing soil for planting seedlings at a reforestation project in Guatemala
Camping in Kyrgyzstan
Dishes duty in Guatemala (from a few years ago)
Teaching an Uzbek girl to read Russian in her home
Evening herding with a goat shepherd in Uzbekistan
Learning to ride a horse!

Feedback