Melanie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hungary, Ireland, Netherlands, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/12/2019 - 25/01/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I'm a 21 year old woman from the Washington, D.C. area of the US looking to adventure and meet people from all over the world while I'm young! I'm a very positive, open person and love forming connections with new people of all ages and from all walks of life. Workaway is something I've thought about doing for years, and as I'm in my final year of university in the US I finally feel ready to take the leap and see the world more.
    For the past four years, I've studied Special Education at the University of Maryland. I want to be a special education teacher after I graduate, and have worked in and out of classrooms as a teacher for the past five years with kids ages 5-21. I absolutely love being with kids and have a soft spot for kids with disabilities, so I love the work I do as a teacher so much. Outside of teaching, I'm also very interested in leadership and have worked as an orientation advisor for my university, a tour guide, a university senator, and I'm very involved in my sorority as well. I like to keep myself busy and rise to the occasion whenever I get a chance. For hobbies, I really enjoy artistic things like playing guitar, singing, painting (even though I'm not great at it!), and writing. I try to stay active and adventurous whenever I can. Some of my experiences so far have been: running a half marathon, skydiving, camping, hiking, and traveling whenever I get the chance!
    I'm looking for a Workaway experience somewhere in Europe, but I'm not focused on any one place! I've traveled to: Spain, France, Italy, England, Ireland, Scotland, the Netherlands, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica and Puerto Rico in the past and would love to explore new places, or go back to any of those incredible places! Traveling is what I look forward to throughout the year, so I'm always looking for my next big trip. Being young and social, I'd love to experience a Workaway that's near a big city so I can meet other people and explore a city whenever the opportunity arises.

    I hope to talk to you soon, and maybe meet you in the future!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My work experience has helped me to develop specific skills in...
    -child care (CPR certified in infants, children, and adults)
    -teaching
    -tutoring
    -customer service
    -management/organizing a team
    -socializing!

    Generally, I also find myself to be dedicated, eager to help and take on new tasks, organized, prepared, and easy to get along with. I work very well with others and am open to anything new!

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback