Maci

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/10/2016 - 25/03/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Nearly 5 years ago, I left a life of stability and found a new wealth in life— diverse experiences and friendships and the perspective they bring. I yearn to keep expanding my view of this world (and the people, cultures, trades, and natural wonders it is home to) so that I may be mindful of my impact and interaction with it, and live harmoniously.

    I was previously a Professor of Dance (Hip Hop styles) at a University in Utah, USA. I have since found myself learning new trades in the following places, and am eternally grateful for each landscape, lesson, and person I encountered along the way:

    Colorado, USA (permaculture, arts community, hospitality, bartending),
    California, USA (sustainable living/farming, exotic animal care, tours, record sales, childcare),
    Alaska, USA (hiking/adventure tours, gold panning, jewelry-making, baking/cooking),
    China (martial arts),
    Vietnam (fishing/boat/kayak tours, writing/advertising),
    Thailand (backpacking).

    My one true love is Art, in any form. Whether it come from a person, a culture, a skilled trade, or nature... I see it as the key to connection and growth.

    It would be an honor to connect with (and learn from) you by contributing to your projects and exploring the area and manner in which you live. I will dive into them with an open mind and tremendous passion.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Learning new skills quickly and with enthusiasm, Artistic endeavors, Hospitality, Animal care, Intricate hands-on work, Physically strenuous activity, Problem-solving, Balancing activities/organization, Adapting to new environments, Farm work (with direction)

  • Languages spoken

    English, a bit of Vietnamese

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    U.S.A.

  • What else ...

    I aim to study astrophysics in the future and would absolutely love to help at an observatory!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian (will eat fish, eggs, and dairy)

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more