Mark

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/08/2019 - 31/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Salud!

    My name is Mark and I am originally from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. About 3 years ago, I began to shift my understanding of the world and started the journey that has led me to where I am today. From delving into a constant yoga practice, I began to reanalyze my health which drove me to a plant-based diet. Once I began to put more emphasis on what I was putting in my body, I wanted to learn more about where it came from.

    After a year of teaching english in Madrid, I worked on an organic vineyard in southern Portugal. This was my first taste of agricultural work, and has spurred me to gain as much knowledge as I can on the subjects of sustainable living. For this reason, I decided to renovate a van and take it through the americas in order to educate myself on topics such as permaculture, earthships, sustainability and many more by volunteering at workaway sites along the way.

    My interests include yoga, nutrition, sports of all kinds, film photography, music, making new personal connections and learning about others' lives and ideas.

    Oh and I have a pup that I am traveling with! His name is Trunks and he is a 1 year old, mixed breed dog :)

    Español:

    Buenas!

    Soy Mark Kosobucki y soy de Milwaukee Wisconsin. Hace casi tres años, empecé a cambiar mi conocimiento del mundo y comencé el viaje que me a llevado a donde estoy hoy en día. Por causa de una practica regular de yoga, empecé a volver a analizar como percibir la salud, la salud fisica, mental y emocional. Así que, empecé a comer una dieta basado en las plantas. Y este se desorrolló a un empfasís en lo que estaba poniendo en mi cuerpo. Quería aprender de donde llegar mi comida y como está cosechado.

    Despues de un año de enseñar el ingles en Madrid, fui a trabajar en una viña organica en el sur de Portugal. Aquí tuve mi primera experiencia de primer mano con la agricultura que me había motivado a aprender lo más que pueda sobre el tema del sostenibilidad, desde la permacultra a earthships y todo en el medio.

    Por causa de todo eso, he decidido a cambiar una furgoneta en mi casa y viajar por las americas buscando a experiencas para crecer mi sabiduría en todo los sentidos. Me apetece trabajar en fincas organicas, sitios de la permacultura, los earthships, retiros de yoga, y muchos más.

    Mis intereses incluyen el yoga, la permacultura, la musica (a pesar que no tocar ningun instrumento por ahora. Estoy aprendiendo la harmonica.) los deportes de todo tipo, fotografía y hacer conexiones personales con gente y aprender sus historias, ideas y opiniones!

    Y tengo un perro que está viajando conmigo; se llama Trunks y tiene un año!

    Tambem falo um poquinho do portugues!

    Salud :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have extensive experience in teaching english, working in a restaurant setting, both in the kitchen and bar, and have some knowledge of working in a vineyard. Also, I have some basic handyman skills. My main skills lay in customer service as I spent multiple years working in a clothing store and then a year as a bar manager in a vegan restaurant/cafe.

    Also, due to growing up in a rural area and in an extended family with farms, I have a good amount of experience with manual labor. Along with this, I just finished building out the van I am traveling in and gained experience in wood and electrical work.

    I am a fairly outgoing person and love working with others. I speak Spanish and a little bit of Portuguese as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I enjoy filling my days with learning and trying new things. One of my main interests is exposing myself and learning new languages. I studied Spanish in college and spent over a year living in Spain, so my spanish level is fairly high. I am currently hoping to learn portuguese and hopefully more! Right now I am teaching myself guitar and would love to be around others who could help me progress in that. Lastly, I am really into health and nutrition; I have a regular ashtanga yoga practice and eat a plant-based diet.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Plant-based

Photos

Feedback