Miranda

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2018 - 02/10/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello world!

    I am originally from Switzerland but have been living in the USA, Costa Rica, Peru, and the Netherlands over the past few years. I am about to graduate from Leiden University (the Netherlands) with a BA in International Studies with Latin America as my world region of focus. I guess you can already tell I have itchy feet.

    I have used workaway in the past during my solo travel adventures throughout Latin America. I made many unforgettable experiences helping out on an agroecological farm in Colombia and bartending at a hostel in Mancora, Peru. During that time, I also picked up Spanish and am now at a level where I feel confident starting my master's in gender studies in Madrid in the coming semester. But until then, I want to break out of my daily routine "locked" into my room, studying in front of my computer. By doing workaway, I would like to contribute to positive change and at the same time get to know the culture and people behind it on a deeper level.

    I'm a very open and easy-going person. I love meeting people from all over the world and expanding my worldwide network of friends. I always feel the urge to travel and I constantly daydreaming about the next places I want to visit. I enjoy laughing and having good conversations and I am always up for the next adventure.

    Like a stereotypical Swiss person, I love skiing and the mountains and I'm also addicted to chocolate. Other than that I play the Cello, do old school black and white analog photography and also digital photography. I'm into all sorts of water sports like scuba diving, live guarding, surfing, snorkeling, swimming etc. I really enjoy listening to music and dance Salsa and other Latin dances. I'm an AFS & TECHO volunteer and have lead many camps for foreign exchange students back in Switzerland. Last but not least, I like cooking and of course, also eating ;) And of course, I'm always up for trying out new things.

    I'd love to help you with your project and bring some positive change into the world.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I can do all sorts of things and I'm always ready to learn new things. I can take and edit pictures for you, set up a website, manage your social media and do promotion, work in the garden and with plants and animals, teach languages (German, Swiss German, English), cook or clean, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Swiss, German, USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat meat, but I eat fish

Photos

Feedback