Jaime

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Germany, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2019 - 20/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello everyone! My name is Jaime. Over the last 10 months, my travel feet have taken me on an immersive deep dive into meditation and Buddhist psychology in Thailand and (natural) horsemanship in Costa Rica. I’m looking for opportunities to continue this journey!

    I have a deep interest in mindfulness and wellbeing and recently reignited an old natural horsemanship (Parelli) flame. I want to explore more of these intersections through meaningful experiences where I can make a difference and hopefully be with horses, and of service to them, most hours of most days.

    For fun I play samba, West African and afro-fusion percussion and guitar. I am fluent in dog and cat, and I am actively interested in learning other animal languages!

    I'm pretty happy and flexible and will be keen to understand your needs to work out if there's alignment with what we can offer each other. I can fly solo, scoop poop, and (on occasions) would be happy to help support you in aspects of your business (e.g. project management, web services).

    I love getting into the rhythm of a place (vs seeing many places), so ideally I can stay each place for several weeks at a time. I have a wee campervan as a backup and would like to be able to travel to Auckland central once a week.

    Over the last decade, I've used my brain to help solve business problems for (mostly) social and environmental enterprises and startups - meaning a lot of talking, collaborating, screen time and problem solving! And while I enjoy being of service this way (and in web technologies also), I am so in love returning to my roots and spending my time outside, away from a computer and in my body! I love to begin as the sun comes up, and to be physically exhausted by sundown! I enjoy meeting people and making connections but also value having time to myself, or time alone with four-legged companions. I enjoy working solo and in teams! In my ideal positions, there is time and space for my daily yoga and meditation practice. Where people are kind, have similar interests, and good communicators.

    As of December, I’m heading back to Thailand (meditation) via Germany (friends) and possibly Abu Dhabi (where there is most amazing horseman ever) before hitting the shores of Aotearoa in about February or March.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    By trade, I’m a human experience and enterprise designer - which means I learn about people (their psychology and behaviour) and improve their experiences - be it the experience of an employee accessing information, a customer buying a service online, a team wanting to develop the capabilities of a feedback culture. I have the basics of Javascript and Ruby on Rails and enjoy designing human-focused web pages (HTML, CSS, WordPress). I also was part of the founding team of a web development school in New Zealand.

    I’m patient, a good listener and generous in spirit. I’m trauma-informed, have worked in mental health and in recent years co-designed and facilitated an empathy (emotional intelligence) curriculum.

    I’m physically strong and stoic - can lift, bend, climb and tumble! I don’t shy away from hard work and am dependable.

    I've recently completed an internship in Parelli Natural Horsemanship. It had been a long hiatus since I worked with horses and cared for herds and my return has been heartfelt. I'm in love again and want to continue to work with and learn horses for the rest of my life.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Age

    40

  • What else ...

    I formed and lived in an urban community for 14 years in Wellington, NZ. I play samba, West African and afro-fusion percussion and guitar. I am fluent in dog and cat, and I am actively interested in learning other animal languages!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      My diet is best described as plant based - which is similar to vegan, except I eat things like honey. I can also flex a little on the likes of egg if required - but preferably not much and not often!

Photos

Feedback