Mike

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Canada - from Apr 2022 until Jul 2022
    View all
  • Description

    My name is Mike I have been working in the hospitality industry for 17 years and have got to meet some amazing people from around the world, i'm friendly, enjoy socialising and learning new skills.
    I started my career as a chef working in chalets and from here moved to managing some great restaurants & hotels.
    A couple of years ago I was fortunate to be able to take on a project on a 300 acre farm to help restore and convert a large barn and stables into a restaurant & hotel whilst learning farm life.
    Caring for the animals was a new chapter in my career and one which taught me a lot and has opened up my eyes to this wonderful world and how it combines with hospitality. Calving and lambing are some memories that will stick with me for life.
    I started working away for the first time in 2017 and spent a fantastic summer in Canada learning so much about organic farming, animal care, building and how I could improve my own skills. I was even lucky enough to be invited to help cook at a island farm to table event for 400 people using all local produce.
    After a great career so far, I have decided to take a new path and I am currently studying Psychology at university in the UK, so will be free in the summer months to take some time again to explore, socialise, and hopefully learn a new language, making new friends whilst continuing this amazing journey I have started.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Writing
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Hotel Management, Restaurant Management, Chef, Wine, Gardening, Marketing, Social Media,Farm Work, Working with Horses, Working with sled dogs

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    38

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      None

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Friends

Photos

Feedback