Michelle & Chandler

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Mexico, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2016 - 14/01/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1000

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi there! We are a couple of 24-year-olds who will be traveling around the US and Canada for a while. We are hardworking and eager to learn new things and can help with lots of different kinds of projects. We are currently looking mostly for Workaways where we could stay for at least a month, but are open to other sorts of arrangements too.

    Michelle went to college in Ohio, studying sociology and dance; Chandler in Southern California, studying literature and philosophy. In 2015 we lived together in Northern California, and completed the John Muir Trail in the Sierras over 26 days in August.

    This past year we traveled for six months in central Mexico and did several Workaways. Before that, we had each traveled extensively on our own, both in the US and abroad, and are self-reliant and comfortable in a wide variety of situations.

    We both love nature and the outdoors and are especially eager to learn new skills involving farming, gardening, permaculture, and other sustainable-living-type projects. But, again, we are extremely open to a wide variety of types of projects.

    We have both used Couchsurfing extensively to travel and meet new people. Both independently and together, we have had almost entirely wonderfully positive experiences. The links to our profiles are below. If you have a couchsurfing account, you should be able to see our references.

    Thanks for reading, look forward to meeting y'all!

    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/chandler.jennings
    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/masmith.92

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Michelle has a lot of experience in babysitting and childcare from newborns to teenagers. She studied dance in college and has taught dance as well. She has been very involved in environmental activism, and has lots of experience organizing different kinds of projects in that area. She has a great love for arts and crafts in general, and her years in dance and theater also taught her basic sewing, knitting, and clothing repair skills. Through WWOOFing, she worked in a bakery in southern England for two weeks.

    Chandler has experience doing writing of all kinds, and has done a lot of editorial work in both academic and non-academic contexts, including some basic translation work from Spanish into English. He has worked in the restaurant industry and also as an assistant for disability accommodation. He is a great reader, both to himself and out loud. He also loves to juggle, and was involved in flow- and circus-arts communities in college.

    During our Workaways in Mexico, we got to experience and help out with all kinds of projects: painting (indoor and outdoor), basic construction stuff, helping with physical therapy, working in a cafe, outdoor permaculture construction, working in rural fields, and helping with an indigenous language and community tourism conference.

    We've both lived in communal-style living situations and are very comfortable contributing to household life in day-to-day ways: cooking, cleaning, yardwork, basic repairs, etc. We also both have valid driver’s licenses and are happy to run errands that involve driving.

    We are both fluent in Spanish and could teach or tutor a variety of subjects in either language.

    We’re both quite friendly and have good communication, are good listeners, and get along with lots of different kinds of people.

    We both love animals of all kinds, climbing trees, being in nature, camping and hiking and getting dirty. We work hard and relax hard. We’re experienced travelers, great lovers of learning, and are always eager to try new things!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    28 & 28

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback