Michel

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/07/2019 - 27/07/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi everyone!
    My name's Michel and I'm a 17 year old student from Zurich, Switzerland. Generally I'd describe myself as a kind, open-minded and easy-going person.

    I grew up (or better said still am) in a small town called Nänikon, which is approximately 30mins away from Zurich. Furthermore I'm actually of Swiss and Thai descent (my mother's Thai, father Swiss), so I think I'm able to say that I have experienced a fair amount of both cultures :). I'm currently still a student, however after my graduation in about one and a half years I plan on doing my military service and afterwards I'd be keen on becoming an environmental engineer.

    In my spare time I like riding motorcycles, as I'm really interested in the whole motorcycle scene, playing video games and just hanging out with my friends. I used to play Football/soccer up until I was 16 years old, however soon after I just didn't have the required time at hand anymore and thus decided to drop it, but I still enjoy playing it from time to time.
    Additionally, I've also developed an interest in local birds from Switzerland (memorizing their voices/appearance), but also frogs. Why? Well.....I just find them interesting, there's really not much more behind it.

    So about my personality I'd say that I'm an easy-going and open-minded person. I'd also say that I'm a perfectionist in the areas which interest me and I therefore can become somewhat impatient sometimes. This owing to me perhaps being a bit over-ambitious from time to time.

    I haven't had my first workaway-experience yet, so obviously I'm really looking forward to it. About my expectations I'd say that I certainly want to further improve my language skills, have lots of fun and obviously also learn a lot of new stuff about other cultures and therefore expanding my horizon.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    -I've got some experience with various tasks if we're talking about gardening (Occasionally helped my grandmother/mother with their gardens)
    -I've also gathered some experience in teaching. I've helped several younger students out with their studies at my school

  • Languages spoken

    german (native language), english (since 8 years), french (since 5 years), italian (since 2 years) and also some thai (I understand up to 90% of it, however actual speaking isn't really fluent)

  • Age

    18

  • Nationality

    Switzerland

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback