Madison

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 30/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello there, my name is Madi! I just finished a degree and am in the classic 'what the heck am I doing with my life' state. However, I am far from keen on falling into a oneway career for the rest of my life. I am incredibly passionate about life, adventure, connection, nature and doing what you love. My goals are unclear but they revolve around a sense of community, connection to nature and a genuine satisfaction with my daily life. I am kind, helpful, easy going and happy to meet this world and its inhabitants.

    I just finished my 4-year degree off with a semester on Haida Gwaii in British Columbia where I was taught about an astounding culture and environment. It was best experience of my life and has helped shaped me as a human being. It has reaffirmed that I want to be immersed in nature, human connection and learning at all times.

    I absolutely love camping, ecology, foraging, hiking, bored games, star gazing, chatting, learning, lakes, kayaking, gardening, live music and of course, dancing, even though I would not call myself skillful at it. I'm hardworking and cooperative!

    I spent many years shy and unsure of myself, now I am ready to meet the world with open arms. Much love.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    4 years of environmental studies and ecology

    Work for a sustainable/food/native-plant based garden company
    - basic gardening skills
    - used to working in sun/ shovelling/ pulling weeds etc.
    - have helped convert lawn to 'food forest'

    - Plant ID (not an expert)
    - Mushroom ID (not an expert but better than plants)
    - Have done a little fish ID
    - Have done a little benthic invertebrate ID
    - have designed and taught 2 mushroom ID seminars to various students/grad students/ professors
    - vegetation sampling protocol
    - identification of 'monumental trees' on Haida Gwaii
    - created and carried out undergrad. thesis project on fungi presence and diversity
    - various small field studies though university
    - good social skills through life and various work/ volunteer experiences
    - have had some cultural safety training
    - introduction to GIS

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I am currently healing my knees from a little injury, however I still am able to do most work, I just take extra good care of them. I work currently in landscaping and shovel, pull weeds and wheel barrow for hours. I mainly cannot kneel and just have to treat my knees well but it hasn't been an issue with work.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mainly vegetarian who tries to avoid dairy and sometimes eats fish

Photos

Feedback