Merit & Henriette

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/11/2018 - 15/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Merit, I am 18 years old and from Germany. I graduated this summer and now have my “Abitur” which is the highest educational grade you can achieve at a german school. During my free time I give a lot of private tuition in English, German and sometimes math. Furthermore I babysit two young girls aged 10 and 11. I love to play tennis, go for a walk with my dog, and just be outside in general. Also I did horse riding for 9 years but had to quit for an exchange experience in France (been there for 3 month in a very little town called Valréas) and sadly didn’t have the time to pick it up again afterwards. My other hobbies include reading (a lot :D), chatting and watching movies with friends, and backing. I speak German and English fluently, very little Spanish, French and I understand dutch as well as my mother speaks it fluently.
    While Henriette worked for the German Post for 3 month, I worked as a waitress in a very busy and popular cafe in our hometown so we would be able to finance this journey by ourselves.
    Hey there! I am Henriette, I am 18 years old and like Merit, I just finished school in Germany with my „Abitur“. To be able to finance my trip to Canada, I worked 3 month for the German Post and stayed outdoors all day. I am also very good with children as I have two little sisters and am a group leader in the summer camp of our town. Together with two friends I meet up with our group of 14 children on a weekly basis to play outside and do handicrafts. In addition to that I gave a lot of private tuition in math and French as I went to France for three month in 10th grade and am now able to speak French nearly fluently. From time to time I am babysitting three little children aged between 2 and 10 from the neighborhood.
    In my free time I played soccer for nine years but sadly had to quit playing last year as I was no longer able to attend to the training. Now, I am climbing on a regular basis and love to go running in the forest near my home. Furthermore, I am a quite musical and play the saxophone in our school orchestra and big band. I also am part of a saxophone-quintet called Stan Gela and play the piano at home and for my family. At home I like to read, cook and watch movies with my family and friends.
    We are from a old beautiful town called Osnabrück which is located in the northern part of Germany (near Hannover). Osnarück is also called the "City of Peace" because the contract to end the civil war from 1618 to 1648 was signed in its townhall. In our hometown we have the oldest "High School" of Germany which was founded in 804.
    We are looking forward to meet new people and try out new things.
    Hope to see you soon :) !
    Merit and Henriette

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are able to adapt to new tasks quickly and help with most problems that need to be solved (except advanced technical tasks). Our main skills are teaching, animal and child care, as well as shopping, cooking, helping in the house and General Maintenance. We both like to be outside a lot and have a good craftsmanship.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, French

  • Age

    19 & 19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Photos

Stocking hay at our first Hosts farm
Sunrise at Zoa Peak, Coquihalla Summit Recreation Area

Feedback