Melissa

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/07/2019 - 31/01/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi dear hosts,

    My name is Melissa. I'm from Germany and I live in Bernburg. It is a town near by Leipzig. Bernburg is located next to the river Saale. It is a very beautiful landscape with a big alluvial forest. I biked through this forest every day because it was my way to school. Bernburg is a very old town first mentioned in the 9th century. You can visit a big castle and many churches.

    In June 2019 I finished school and now I want to travel through Ireland. In 2012 I travelled for the first time to Ireland with my family and I fell in love with this island. Because it is impossible to see the whole island in two weeks we travelled to Ireland in 2016 again. Of course I fell again in love. After the second holiday I knew that I had to go back to Ireland and explore the island again but with more time.

    What do you need to know about me?
    I'm a friendly and interested girl that wants to learn new things and want to meet the Irish.
    I’m very good in organizing. I organized our last school day. In Germany we celebrate the last school day with a big program. At this day the students and the teachers play games that we invented by our self. You need to plan everything… the music, the texts for the presenter, the stage and the equipment.
    You can say that I have a musical talent. I play the violin for 15 years now. Also I like to sing but I'm not a professional singer. My goal for this trip is to learn how to sing and play traditional Irish Folk.
    I'm also interested in art. I like to paint in watercolours but often I don't know what I can paint. Hopefully I get inspired by the beautiful landscapes and the friendly people and their stories.
    Furthermore, I want to learn how to do pottery. So it would be perfect if you are someone who can do pottery and teach me or you know somebody who can teach me.
    You can say that I’m a bookworm. I like to read thick fantasy and thriller books. I don’t have one favourite book. I have seven because I love all of the Harry Potter books. I read them twice in German and once in English. Maybe you can give me some really great book tips!
    I’m an animal lover. I have one bunny -her name is Hedwig- and eight guinea pigs. Also I’m able to do dog sitting because my boyfriend has a German Shepard and he showed me how to interact with a dog. My favourite animal is a sheep. I can’t say why I like sheep’s so much. Maybe because they look like clouds :) Hopefully I can work with sheep’s and stroke them after the work.
    Also I live environmental aware. So that means especially for me that I’m a vegetarian and that I want to produce waste as little as possible. I support the Fridays for Future movement.


    Last but not least I want to tell you about my boyfriend Robert. I will travel with him through Ireland and if it is possible we want to stay together at one place. But it is no problem for us to travel independently in the same region. I’m proud to say that I could convince him to travel with me because he will be able to see new beautiful places. You will like him :)

    This is the end of my description and I hope that you have a better idea of who I am and that we will meet in the beautiful Ireland.

    Have a nice day!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - organizational talent
    - interested in arts
    - musical talent
    - tutoring... basic math skills, music, geography
    - good cooking skills
    - interested in gardening

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, Latin ( I can't speak it, but I'm able to translate)

  • Age

    19

  • Nationality

    Germany

  • What else ...

    Boardgames: chess, draughts

    Because I love to read I would like to give you a book that I have read (of course in English) and I hope that you will give me a book too.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      cats

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian

Profile is connected to:

razupaltuff


Photos

Feedback