Melissa & Daniel

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently


  • Description

    We're Melisa and Dan, both from the United Kingdom and currently travelling Mexico and looking to contribute to the environment and community. We were brought up in multi-cultural, social and outdoorsy environments and enjoy living by these values. We're both athletic, enjoy exercising, cooking and eating well, and generally leading a healthy lifestyle. Being in nature is important to us, as is speaking to people and learning new things and different ways of doing things. We're both very interested in different cultures, backgrounds, beliefs, and learning about them, and are happy to share our experiences and knowledge.

    We are new to the Latin American world. Melisa speaks a little bit of Spanish from a few previous trips to Spain, and Dan is learning Spanish at the moment. With Workaway, we're looking to give back to others, the community and the environment (i.e., make ourselves useful!), as well as developing our knowledge of the Mexican culture, way of living, and practicing and developing our Spanish.

  • Interests

    Adventure sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    We're interested in learning and developing our Spanish. We're both native speakers of English and would be happy to teach this, although note that we are not qualified teachers of English. Melisa is a native speaker of Turkish, and would be happy to teach this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  


    Able to teach about:  

  • More details about your skills

    Melisa - I'm an ex-environmental consultant, which was a career where I provided marine ecological advice to clients. In this career, I've demonstrated that I am hardworking, a fast learner, good at listening to briefings / instructions and following them, whilst also being self-sufficient and being an efficient worker by myself.
    I have volunteered with various organisations previously, in lobster fisheries and turtle nesting grounds, where I worked effectively in a team and by myself.
    I am an athletic person, involved in sports such as hiking, snorkelling, surfing, running and Crossfit, and in most cases have taught myself the skills needed. I am resourceful and determined which ensures that I get the results that I am working towards.
    Having spent plenty of time gardening which mainly consisted maintenance of my garden, and growing vegetables (beans, corn, courgette, cucumber, tomatoes and beetroots) from seeds, I enjoy spending time in a garden / field and am not afraid to get my hands dirty. This also applies to any other practical work outside - I am strong, therefore am able to put in hard work with activities / work outside.

    Dan - I'm an engineer in the construction industry. I'm very athletic, strong and can help out with any physical tasks. I'm a very practical person, hand on and good at problem solving. I'm sociable, easy to get along with, and work well in a team as well as by myself. I am confident in using power tools and have built various things around my home including a log cabin. I am a quick learner so I am sure I'll be able to learn any new skills required of me.

  • Age

    29 & 25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dan is allergic to peanuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      Dan is allergic to peanuts