Melissa & Simon

From: United States & Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Algeria, Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/11/2012 - 11/11/2022

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I (Melissa) have been backpacking solo for the last 6+ years and along the way have been working on various projects using Workaway and other sources. In the last few years, I have been giving my time, love, and energy to an intentional community in Germany, and work there usually between 4 and 7 months out of the year. At the moment I have found myself back in the states and introducing my partner Simon to the culture here and also looking to join other like-minded individuals in intentional communities that we can share ideas and experiences with.

    I have been learning all about teaching, natural building, organic farming, animals, preservation, hostel work, hotel, and seminar/conference room duties, community building, and sustainable living practices through these work away experiences and also through my many different careers, but I am open to all opportunities as I enjoy just about everything!

    I love animals and children, I enjoy teaching English and literacy through art, music and movement, reading, hiking, traveling, biking, working with like-minded individuals on eco- projects, volunteer work, yoga, meditation, sharing (and making up) good stories, and working with my hands ( I am capable of using many power and hand tools to build with and have experience in carpentry).

    My formal education is in Early Childhood Education, but I have also held careers ranging from high volume bartending to marketing and promotions, to being a personal assistant for two highly successful entrepreneurs in Los Angeles CA, to program coordinating, event management, and more - you could say that I am a jill of all trades as I have had experience in many different fields.

    I play extremely well with others as I like to think that I have acquired a broad perspective of this world and can live in harmony and without judgment of those I meet. I'm looking forward to lending my enthusiasm, energy, positive attitude, and many different skills to some new projects and communities and am looking forward to what the universe delivers!

    Simon works with me at the Spiritual Retreat Seminar Hotel (www.jonathan-seminarhotel.de ) in Germany, is fantastic with handiworks, has a very relaxed way of being, and together we finished the 40-day silent retreat in the Sahara desert this year. We are both very much into inner work and allowing that growth to express itself in the outer world through being of service to projects and investments that we believe in and call us from the heart.

    Thank you for taking the time to read the profile and we look forward to hearing from you :)

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay

    Able to teach about: 

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Melissa;
    Teaching (Advanced & Credentialed)
    Gardening (Beginner)
    Hotel/Hostel Management
    Event Management
    Bar Tending
    Communications
    Carpentry
    Manual Labor
    Computer Savvy
    Team Player (yes, I consider that a skill!)
    I can use most power tools :)
    Video Editing
    Social Media
    Website Creation/Blogging
    Professional Writing
    Photography and Filming
    Great listener ;)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    42 & 23

  • Nationality

    Human

  • What else ...

    My friends when asked said that I am; (yes, I asked them hahaha):
    Outgoing
    Resourceful
    Honest
    Enthusiastic
    Trustworthy
    Sociable
    Reliable
    Energetic
    Charismatic
    Self motivated
    Strategic thinker
    Good listener
    Patient
    Fun!!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We prefer a mostly vegetarian diet :)

Photos

Hiking in Alaska - September 2012
Backpacking in Guatemala for the Earth Ship build.. December 2012
Earth Ship project in Guatemala
I love community events! June 2010
Driving in Oaxaca Mexico September 2012
Me, Liana and Cheechee in Las Vegas, NV- February 2013
Working on a project at moms house in Florida- April 2013
Somewhere in Bavaria haha May 2013
At our preschool fundraiser - November 2012
At the farmhouse with the family in Betzigau Germany June 2013
my sisters in tunisia
clearing land to build the yurt in germany august 2014

Feedback