Leslie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Iceland, Italy, Slovenia, Sweden, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/07/2019 - 20/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Leslie, and I fell in love with international travel after I took a trip to London in 2008. Since then, I've visited Uganda, El Salvador, Guatemala, Italy, France, & Spain. I've been fortunate to travel as part of mission trips and also for my work--I teach at a University in the States. I've traveled solo (to Norway) and as part of a group--there are advantages to both! I do not like "touristy" trips--I like to experience local culture and take my time visiting places. I found this site totally by chance, and I'm excited to explore the possibilities available through volunteering!
    A little bit more about me...I've been active in sports, both as a player and as a coach. I have a lot of experience with kids; my son is 15, and my brother has 5 kids (current ages 8, 6, 3, almost 2, and 1). I'm with them a lot, and I enjoy watching them grow and experience new things. I've been around animals, and really enjoy horses (I have 2). I'm open to experiences working in gardens, cleaning, childcare, farmwork, and more!
    With my University schedule, I'm currently available until Aug 22nd 2019, December 2019-Jan 15th 2020, and May - August 2020.
    Anything else you want to know, please ask!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm a Sociology professor by training, and have taught at a University for 16 years. I'm proficient in Microsoft Office, so I could definitely help with some computer skills! I'm very active--I've played multiple sports (softball and volleyball are my favorites), and can also coach multiple ages in sports (soccer, baseball, softball, some basketball). I can definitely help with childcare--I'm a mom to a 15 year old son, and I regularly help take care of my brother's five kids (ages 8, 6, 3, almost 2, and 1). I can manage housework, yard work, working with tools, cleaning, and farm work. I love animals, and have 2 horses.

  • Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish, learning Italian

  • Age

    44

  • What else ...

    I am outgoing and friendly, and I also appreciate some quiet time to myself. I'm happy to explore different areas through walking and hiking, and I'm also comfortable hanging out reading a book or playing board & card games. I highly respect others, and am comfortable interacting with individuals from various backgrounds. I would prefer not to be placed with smokers.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback