Maximillian

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, French Polynesia, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Nepal, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/10/2018 - 20/12/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Maximillian. After leaving university, where I was studying Marine Science and Biology, in 2017 I have been focused on traveling, working, and trying to get as many meaningful experiences around the world as I can. I was born in London, England and have also lived in France, Maryland (USA), and Washington DC (USA). I have been traveling around the world for most of my life and have truly come to appreciate encountering new people, cultures, and places. Since leaving university I have worked filming Polar Bears in northern Canada (Manitoba and Nunavut), traveled throughout Alaska and the Yukon as a sled dog handler (participated in the Copper Basin 300 and the Yukon Quest 1000 as a handler), and worked for a wildlife documentary production company (Earth Touch). I have a passion for wildlife photography/videography. I have loved nature all my life, especially the ocean. I have been fishing and freediving all my life and have spent a few months this past year surfing in southern France and Delaware. I love being as immersed as possible in nature, the more remote the better. My goal is to learn about as many different ways of living as I can.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    I have quite a bit of experience in manual labor. Working during the wintertime as a dog handler in Alaska and the Yukon meant many 12+ hour days of demanding physical work in temperatures that often stayed below -30 degrees celsius for days on end. That experience made me comfortable working long days in extremely harsh environments.

    I have lots of experience working on boats. I have interned many times for marine biologists. This work involved being on a boat between 5-10 hours a day. Depending on the project the work would involve lots of freediving, working with sharks, or setting up equipment on the boat.


    I have some experience in construction. I took part in a project to build a house in Taos, New Mexico. During that time I worked mainly on constructing the roof out of wood.

    I pride myself on being a quick learner. I generally only need things explained to me once, however, will not hesitate to ask questions if I am unclear about something.

    I believe my most important skill is my attitude toward work. I will keep working until whatever needs to be done is done without a complaint. I am a big believer in getting the most out of everything I do. That means no matter how mundane or difficult work is I will approach it as an opportunity to learn, the more I put into the work the more I will get out of it.

  • Languages spoken

    English (Native), German (Fluent), Spanish (Mediocre)

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    German, Greek, South African. United States (Permanent Resident)

  • What else ...

    At the end of the day, my purpose is to learn. As long as I can keep doing that, I believe, whatever I do will have been a success.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback