Mauricio

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/09/2019 - 27/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I like to think about myself as a very adaptable and curious individual. I was born in Venezuela where I spent most of my childhood until I left to the US in order to finish my high school studies in a boarding school. I then went on to study Philosophy in college, where I was very interested in the study of aesthetics and musicology. I went back to Venezuela where I worked in a tech-incubator specializing in cryptocurrencies and then to Colombia where I stayed the better part of the year living in the jungle with the Cofan tribe of the Putumayo Department.

    The personal interests that define me the most are music, the quest for spirituality and knowledge, nature, and to a lesser extent, disruptive technologies.

    I believe we should try to achieve virtue by cultivating one's self, and during this process, we will learn the importance of living in peace and respecting nature. Ultimately, this will provide the self with the equanimity necessary to sail the rough winds of life, thus arriving happily to the shores of fulfillment.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm a native English and Spanish speaker with pedagogical experience. I'm very good with computers and specialized software. I have a good understanding of design principles and its applications on graphic or web design. I can play various instruments and have good knowledge of music theory as well as some experience teaching it, I'm currently exploring world music with a focus on Latin America folklore from an ethnomusicological perspective. Recently, I've dwelled into ethnobotany in the Putumayo department with a Cofan shaman (Taita) and this experience showed me how much I love working the land and nurturing nature. I really enjoy knowing at least a little bit about everything and have dedicated a big part of my free time towards the gathering of general culture.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I enjoy reading, playing and listening to music, DJing, humor, writing, and storytelling. I think I have a pretty cool guitar repertoire.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      gossip

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback