Maura

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/01/2019 - 13/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hi folks!
    I am a university student who is originally from the US (I grew up in Texas but now go to school in Pennsylvania), and am in my last year of studies. I study Environmental Studies and Philosophy, but am keenly interested in all forms and fashions of knowledge – including practical knowledge. In fact, I love Workaway because it allows me to spend a little less time with the books and a little more time living and immersing myself in hands-on knowledge. I am an eager learner, and can quickly pick up what I don't know. I am a rather friendly and easy going person who is equally compatible with an evening of conversation as I am with a book. This is to say, I cherish symbiotic relationships and aim to be the minimum amount of inconvenience possible. In terms of hobbies, I enjoy meeting new people, meditation, haiku, and learning new things.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    -Environmental sustainability principles (can teach & help assess)
    -Human relations (have worked in college dorms, retail, and as a tour guide)
    -Physical labor/self-initiating work ethic
    -Eager learner
    -Niche information about the Jewish Community Farming Movement in North America (I once spent a summer doing an ethnographic study)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am very interested in exploring and getting to know the areas that I travel to. So, in addition to work, I am eager to learn about the culture and community of your residential area (no matter how large or small). If you have any interest in sharing it with me, that'd be welcomed!

    I am also a keen bread baker, and would be glad to share my sourdough starter with you and provide fresh-baked loaves of bread. I'm happy to contribute my developing cooking skills, too, as well as pick up any that you are interested in sharing. Combining food and fellowship is one of my favorite things to do!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Working in the campus garden at Lancaster University
Working the campus garden's market stall at Lancaster University
Building a dry wall at my first Workaway in the Morvan Regional Forest, France
Forest restoration in Hardknott Forest, Lake District National Park
Scaling watermelons while working as a research assistant for an ethnographic study of the Jewish Community Farming Movement

Feedback