Madeline & Matthew

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (4)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    COVID addendum: We're fortunate enough to have 3 Pfizer vaccines! Excitrd to resume our travels onward with our friend Maytal (who is connected below) eastward!
    -------------
    Hello! We are an American/Israeli couple living in our backpacks! We previously lived in Baltimore, MD, and embarked on our incredible journey in June 2019. At the end of our travels we're relocating Sweden where Madeline will begin medical school, and Matthew will pursue law school. Madeline grew up in San Francisco, CA, but has traveled all over Europe. She has a strong interest in sustainable farming, community, and thru-hiking. She loves the snow and she loves animals. Matthew comes from Philadelphia, PA, and really grew up in his grandfather's sign shop. He loves making a difference in the lives of children, caring for animals, and immersing himself in nature. Since we've left the states and won't be returning, becoming workawayers is perfect for our lifestyle. We love backpacking, making friends, living new cultures, trying new things, and doing meaningful work. We're lively, humble, considerate, kind, adventurous, and passionate (and we come as a set!). We're traveling all around the world for a two years and are open to going anywhere!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Madeline:
    - Dairy farming. Operating milk machinery, manual and mechanical milking, strict adherence to sanitation, setup/clean up, loves cows!
    - Gardening and yard work. Household care (cleaning, laundry, cooking, general maintenance).
    - Childcare, nannying, CPR certified.
    - Previous work in teaching ocean conservation to children
    - Experience with horses. Rode competitive endurance racing for 10 years. Familiar with English tack. Grooming, paddock maintenance, lunge work.
    - Animal rehab experience
    - Long distance hiker who can help with trip prep (food, maps, ultralight packing) and can lead hikes or participate in trail maintenance.
    - Can skin/tan hides
    - Film photography hobbyist!
    - Has had multiple preceptorships with physicians in hospitals and private practices. Basic laceration repair, abscess i&d, and has a strong foundation in anatomy and pharmaceuticals.

    Matthew:
    - Dairy farming. Operating milk machinery, manual and mechanical milking, strict adherence to sanitation, setup/clean up, also loves cows
    - Building, basic carpentry, painting, cladding, window installation
    - Household care (cleaning, laundry, cooking, general maintenance).
    - Extensive teaching background (taught children from ages 2-18 math, English language, English as second language, writing, reading comprehension).
    - Advised and mentored youth. Focused on teaching gender equality and bridging gaps to high school and early college young adults.
    - Live-in nanny (feeding, changing, bathing, entertaining).
    - Manual labor, building, assembling.
    - Filming and editing.
    - Creative, academic, and professional writing.
    - Gardening and yard work.
    - Professional organizing and arranging.
    - Strong swimmer, life guard skills, CPR certified.
    - Maintain water treatment system.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    26 & 27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Shellfish, Nuts (but not peanuts! they are a legume (-: ) and only if consumed, Cherries, Pineapples, Melons, Bananas, and Avocados

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback