Matthew & Emma

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/11/2019 - 30/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My wife (Emma) and I are spending a year volunteering and travelling as a family (with our two sons Rory 5 and Dexter 3) .

    we are excited about working on farms and retreats (e g. yoga, surf, health retreats) as a means of meeting new people, having new experiences and providing an exciting education for our boys.
    In particular I am very keen to enjoy working on farms and contributing to the development of permaculture, no dig and self sufficient projects!

    I am a teacher and Emma is a social worker, we are therefore obviously keen to help other people achieve their dreams!

    As a family we are kind, funny and engaging and so far have had a great time with all of the families who have been kind enough to host us. Hopefully this will soon include you!!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in: 

    DIY and building projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about: 

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Matt is a qualified teacher (history and computer science - weird mix I know!) as well as an amateur musician
    Emma is a qualified social worker as well as holding a TEFL qualification.
    We have extensive experience with vegetable gardening (we have an allotment in the UK) and have provided the following services to other hosts (can provide references if needed):
    Gardening, harvesting seeds, transplanting plants, taking tree cuttings, digging, chainsawing, chopping wood, painting, olive harvesting and processing, apple juice pressing, making jams/conserves etc, making soap, land clearing, sheeps wool insulation, lime plastering, so many other things that i've forgotten and...weeeding. So. Much. Weeding.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    37 & 36

  • What else ...

    We both love listening to and playing music, learning with our boys about the world, reading, playing board games and being outside.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback