Martina

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, French Southern Territories, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, St Maarten, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands (British), Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2017 - 01/03/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Howdy!
    I am Martina Susanna and I am committed to service and transformation in our world. Flexibility and curiosity about the environment and the people around me constantly bring gratitude and joy to my life. Traveling is key in understanding the diversity of our collective being. And, it's super fun and awesome! So far, my experiences with workaway have been varied, challenging, and AMAZING.

    Hablo y estudié Español un poco pero quiero aprender lo que me falta. Estoy lista a practicar y avanzar mis capacidades con la idioma!

    As a guest on the road, I understand the trust that must accompany bringing in travelers. I enjoy keeping a home that is safe and sacred complete with eclectic music, vegan and vegetarian cooking, collective sharing, positive energy, aromatherapy, and simple pleasures such as a tidy and welcoming space. It is my honor to be as accommodating as possible while being hosted.

    Spiritual growth is the key to my travels. I believe wholeheartedly in coming together to create a life that welcomes everyone along their journey. Environmentalism is a passion of mine along with teaching, art, photography, and craft work. I am TESOL certified as an ESL teacher and have been volunteering with a local organization which caters to adults. I adore cooking, reading, tending my succulent garden, and I gather most of my strength and humor from being outdoors. My work for the last 10 years has been managing high volume restaurants so I am very comfortable with high-energy work, maintaining a team-environment, and keeping myself busy, and my areas clean/organized.

    Latin America among other areas have been speaking to me for some time to join her. My plans are to soak in the culture! However, I do not have a specific plan or timeline in place and have been blessed with this rare and beautiful opportunity of freedom. Oklahoma, USA is my home place. The town that I am from is quite small with a very supportive community. I feel most comfortable away from too much hectic energy.

    Luckily, I have traveled a bit on my own through Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Colombia, and Puerto Rico helping schools with their language and arts programs so I feel comfortable meeting new people and being of service. I don't require fancy accomodations but do appreciate a cozy bed for sleeping. I am open to most kinds of work but am somewhat limited on my ability for hard physical labor.

    I look forward to meeting you, the people, the customs, and the culture. Salud!!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    TESOL ESL certified
    Volunteer in administering Arts and Language programs
    Computer literate and proficient in Microsoft & Adobe softwares
    Specialize in Adobe Photoshop photo editing
    Photography degree with specialization in commercial and fine art
    Bachelor of Management with a Marketing minor
    Sustainability project coordinator
    Culinary experience
    Meditation guide and member of group sharing organizations
    Reiki practitioner
    Seamstress
    Interior and Graphic design
    Gardening
    Sustainable Craft building / Recycled material interpreter
    Project organizer
    Visual artist
    Professional bartender
    Professional restaurant manager and events coordinator
    Dedicated customer service representative

  • Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    Mexican American

  • What else ...

    The quality that I admire most about myself and in others is honesty.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Shellfish (shrimp, crab, lobster, oyster, squid, octopus)

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mainly vegan with special occasion exceptions

Photos

Jack Fork River, USA
californian Redwoods
Día de los Muertos en Tulsa, OK
Egg cartons lamp, Nicaragua
Carenero Island, Panama
Carenero Island, Panama
Bocas Del Toro, Panama
Bocas Del Toro, Panama
Kids Yoga, Nicaragua
Road to San Blas, Panama
Recycled Cds & Records Installation
Recycled CD case project
Chalkboard Display, Nicaragua
8 FT. Window Display, USA
El Transito, Nicaragua

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more