Marta

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/01/2019 - 03/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Marta, I'm 23 years old and I'm from Lisbon, Portugal.
    I studied Fashion Design in college. Since I was a kid I've always been passionate about all art forms but fashion was always the one that felt the closest to me, something with which I could create and express myself with every morning before going out and also something that helped me interpret others. When in college, I became aware of how unethical and unsustainable the fashion industry actually is. For three years now I've been part of Fashion Revolution portuguese team: we are an international organization advocating for transparency in this industry, so that everyone knows where their clothes come from, who made them and in what conditions - and with that make fashion evolve in a more sustainable and ethical way.
    What I've been learning with Fashion Revolution changed the way I consume and also made me question what I wanted for my professional future - I think I no longer want to be a designer. This made me feel a bit lost but for the past year I've been working on a souvenir shop while trying to figure out what I want to do with my life and I decided I want to see new things, try new and different things, meet new people. I've always liked traveling, I've always wanted to see the world but now I want to go because of the people. Since working there I've met the most amazing people from such far away places, with the most different cultures - this job honestly restored my faith in humanity. And to be completely honest I want to do something out of my comfort zone, I want to go somewhere I don't know and not only meet new people but make friends and live unforgettable experiences, share and learn.
    I am currently traveling through Canada, and will be here until July 20's. After that I would like to finish this adventure in Europe!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm really good with any kind of crafts, especially the fashion and textile related: I know how to sew and knit, I can do embroidery, mending, basic weaving and crochet, ...
    I love children, taking care of them and teaching - Fashion Revolution gave me the opportunity to do some sewing and customizing workshops with kids from 10 to 17 years old and it was one of the best experiences in my life.
    I also have first aid training, I took a course with Portuguese Red Cross.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent english and portuguese, basic spanish

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Portuguese

  • What else ...

    I'm always ready to learn and help.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Salomé and me at a talk about alternatives to fast fashion
Home made cupcakes
I love picnics!
Self love wall in Toronto ♥️

Feedback