Marko

From: Croatia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2019 - 18/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Digital nomad, developer and IT enterpreneur, traveling and working online.

    My broad set of skills and interests varies from nature exploration, healthy cooking, housebuilding and working with natural materials to development of digital platforms and working with new digital technologies like virtual or augmented reality.

    My greatest loves are learning, exploring, experimenting, inventing and finding new eficent ways of doing something.

    I'm looking to sharpen my existing skills and learn new ones, especially in the following fields:

    - self-sustainable living
    - organic farming
    - permaculture
    - building with natural materials
    - extracts, solutions and essential oils
    - healthy food
    - treeshaping
    - energy efficiency
    - healthy ways of combining nature and technology
    - survival techniques

    After i gather enough skills and experiences I'm starting my own project - a self-sustainable and energy efficient house with a farm, which combines organic farming, environment friendly living, and natural materials with digital technology in a non-invasive and eco-friendly way.

    I'm also looking for interesting business connections and opportunities in the mentioned fields, with self-sustainability of the ecosystem in mind.

    My current life dream is to grow a full sized house, completely out of living plants (at least as a viable experiment). Something similar to this:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fab_Tree_Hab

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have been helping with farming, constructions and other manual labor since I was a kid. During my lifetime I have accumulated a set of various skills:

    - housebuilding
    - housework and maintainance
    - farming/gardening
    - composting, upcycling and recycling
    - urban gardening
    - old house reconstruction
    - working on art projects and interactive art installations
    - electronic engineering, IoT
    - working with natural materials (wood, bamboo, food "waste", clay...)
    - collecting (and a little bit od healing with) herbs
    - knitting and sewing
    - swimming
    - love to cook, work with food, and do cooking experiments

    Most of my housebuilding and farming/gardening experience comes from working on reconstructions and mainatainance of my family's old village house and nearby garden.

    I have good organisational skills crafted by more than 10 years of managing my own IT company and leading a team of developers.. Also more than 10 years of experience in the fields of computer science, programming and IT development.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Croatian, un poco de Español

  • Age

    39

  • What else ...

    I can help with almost any computer related issue. But, when possible, I'd rather teach you how to help yourself.

    The brown one on the photo is not my pet, but my friend and it's not traveling with me.

    I'm good at making pizza dough out of integral rice (con hojas de mais o platana tambien).

    I see littering as a sign of ignorance and try to minimise my trash footprint - I upcycle (did you know you can make a rope out of toilet paper plastic packaing?), recycle, divide my trash, compose organic waste and use natural material as much as I can (you can also make a rope out of many diffrent plants). I higly respect people with the same (or better) attitude towards nature.

    I don't use digital social networks.

    I'm not demanding and I can seleep in any reasonable conditions (e.g. not in the rain).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      alergic to polen and dust, but when needed I have my antialergy pills with me

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm not vegetarian, but preffer meals without meat. I recently stoped eating pork after finding out pigs might be more intelligent and sentient than dogs

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more