Markéta

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/08/2019 - 29/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello there!

    My name's Markéta and I come from Czech Republic, from a small town which in the north of Bohemia. I live in an area called Central Bohemian Highlands, therefore I'm a lover of nature and hiking. I'm also a passionate runner (ran 2 half-marathons last year), swimmer and like to ride a bike as well.

    Apart from that , I've been playing the piano since I was 5, coming from a musical family, it was almost like a duty to play the piano, but I enjoy it deeply and music in general is a great passion for me.
    As a student (studying a grammar school), I like learning languages, but also maths and physics and I hope to go to a technical university in Prague this year to study IT.

    I like to spend my free time with my friends and family, but I can manage on my own as well - reading, hiking, discovering places all alone, thinking about things and relaxing in this kind of way.

    In 2017, I participated in a three-week-volunteer camp in France, where we were restauring an old chateau and that was the first time I'd ever done any volunteering- and I just I loved it! I made some great friends, learned many things and enjoyed the idea of an exchange. Last year I discovered workaway, went to Switzerland on my first one and loved it even more, as I stayed with such a lovely family and we enjoyed our time very much.

    I think of myself as a tidy person, flexible and adaptable, not afraid to get my hands dirty and although I don't have any excellent bulding skills and such, I'm a fast learner and only need to get introduced to things..and then I work hard.

    I would love to visit Scotland this summer and with the Brexit being prolonged till the October, this is one of the last chances to go there when it's still in the EU (of course not in case if UK doesn't leave EU, but one never knows)

    I'm looking forward to meeting you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I can help you with many sorts of work as I consider myself a fast learner. My physique is pretty good I'd say, so if there's anything a bit more strenght-demanding or just tiring, it's okay for me, too. I can't promise to work like a Hercules, but I can always try my best.

    In France we were restauring a chatea so there was a lot of hard work to do(like moving the stones, preparing the concrete with a shovel and so..), in Switzerland I did a lot of gardening, cleaning, ironing clothes, domestical tasks...

    But like I said above, I'm not afraid of getting hands dirty and I always appreciate learning new things and skills, because at the age of 19 there's so many things to learn, though.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Czech, Russian, a bit of German

  • Age

    19

  • Nationality

    Czech

  • What else ...

    I'm an open-minded person who really is just excited about new things and people, customs, books, nature, music, sports... I'm looking forward to meeting you, learning about your country, region and customs and share those of mine with you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a vegetarian:)

Photos

In Dresden with some lovely baroque angels
If you watch Game of Thrones, you should recognise this place..and if you don't - this is at city walls in Dubrovnik, Croatia.
Alright, this is an easy one 😁
The capital of Czechia - Prague! In the back you can see the Prague's castle and I'm standing on the Charles bridge.
Okay, this is just me on a cycling trip
This one's is far from what you might think....it's nearby the sea...and it's Russia!
Hiking in Bohemia
On the trail through the mountains behind me, you can reach Mont Blanc! This is from last year when my swiss host family took me hiking to this beautiful area
Also Switzerland, Montreaux - place, where the Queen wrote many of their songs
Vegetarian food - just some grass and stones
canoeing is lots of fun, especially when you sink your boat

Feedback