Heloisa & Marina

From: Brazil

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, India, Indonesia, Laos ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/03/2016 - 01/02/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    527

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Who we are and what we have been doing...

    We are a brazilian couple, that lived most of our lives in a urban environment and we found ourselves bored by working inside an office during 9am to 6pm Monday to Friday. We started travelling around Brazil in 2012 to most rural and ecotourism/preservation areas: Lençóis Maranhenses, Tocantins, Jalapão, Chapada dos Veadeiros - if you have never heard about them, please google it! After some time travelling to these places, our interests started changing and the Yoga guided us to a Brazilian ecovillage where one of us could experience the "here and now feeling" as well as a community living what we believe to be a more "real" world. In this community living we shared all the daily activities (cleaning, cooking, gardening, bakering), what taught us cooperation, selfless service, sustainable communication and a little bit about environmental responsibility. In 2014 we went to New Zealand under the working holiday visa scheme, where we spent one year working most in hospitality and sales area, but our most valuable experiences came from working in exchange for accommodation at a Yoga retreat center where we lived with a lot of people from all over around the world, an activist photographer house which changed completely our point of view about New Zealand besides to allow us to live a New Zealand native life and an internship in a permaculture land recently designed where we could perform a lot of hard-work and understand better how to set up a holistic system in order to foster a peaceful relationship between human and nature.

    Our skills....

    Heloisa - I'm an eclectic person and I studied a little bit of several different courses... 6 months of journalism, 2 years of Marketing but I'm graduated in System Analysis and I also hold a certificate in Software Engineering. I already worked with marketing, retail but my longer experience was for IBM, where I worked for 5 years as IT specialist (application support, tester, system developer, project coordinator). I like to analyse, practice logic, develop systems but my passion is to use my analytical skills to help people and communicate!

    Marina - I'm a straight and organized person. I'm graduated in Social Communication and I hold a Master of Business Administration in Marketing, what gave me knowledge for setting up goals and strategies to achieve them. I worked for 5 years in a big US Industrial Company - 3M, where I had opportunity to perform marketing plans and show them in international meetings, coordinate tasks and deliveries . Before NZ I experienced another cultural exchange in Australia, where I studied English for 7 months, what made me to get more attempted to travel and gave me some experience to to get a job in a cultural exchange agency in Brasil.

    Lately we both have been working on a website project and lots of housework, gardening (protecting slopes by planting trees, making compost), building (fences, painting decks, building yoga room foundation, bed bases), cooking (for more than 44 people), tidying up rooms what we are enjoying a lot as doing different activities stimulates creativity =)

    What we are looking for...

    We are experience seekers and we want to keep working in exchange for accommodation as this is the best way to learn more about other cultures, community living, permaculture, as well to share our skills, experiences and availability.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Computer, System Development, Marketing Plan, Gardening , Housework, Building, Cooking Tidying up rooms, Teaching.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Age

    4 & 4

  • Nationality

    Brazilian

  • What else ...

    Our last experience in New Zealand, as intership in a permaculture farm: http://ecothriftylife.com/2016/03/09/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

a peaceful moment inside the bush. grateful!
discovering Lençóis Maranheses, North of Brazil.
Well done! We cooked a big dinner (50 people) by ourselve at Kawaia Pura Pura after the beautiful chef gave us intructions.
Community dinner at Kawaia Pura Pura, Auckland NZ.
Celebrating my birthday with Fioana Clark, a New Zealand activist photographer.
Friends from around the world
Quilombola Community.
Jalapão Expedition.

Feedback