Marce

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 02/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi Hosts,

    I am an older than average WorkAwayer but don't be fooled, I am a very youthful, adventurous boomer who likes to travel/explore/learn and be of service. I lived communally in my 20s and in cooperative homes at other times in my life and I want to experience cooperative work and living now by supporting homesteads/farms which are good stewards of their families, land, and animals and then put into practice what I learn on a small cooperative homestead of my own.

    I am a good worker, efficient, organized and a good brainstormer/problem solver. I work well with a team effort but don't need supervision if working solo. You can give me a project and go do what you need to do.
    I love meeting new people of all ages and backgrounds, as well as animals and environments. I have a good sense of humor and love to learn new things. I have a love of nature, lots of gardening and cooking experience and managing projects for non-profits and working as a singer and teacher of many styles of music, including traditional French songs of Louisiana and Appalachian ballads. I love to hike, swim,read, dance and spend fun time and quiet time with friends of all ages or on my own. I enjoy social time but I do not need to be entertained.

    I normally live in a wonderful vintage 5th wheel camper for three seasons of the year in the Southern Appalachian mountains of Western North Carolina and spend several months in the winter traveling in the south, mostly Louisiana and Texas. Because of Covid-19 I was unable to travel south for winter of 2020 and now I want to stay closer to my home and explore other areas of North Carolina by living and working on farms with animals (especially goats and chickens/ducks) and productive gardens. Thanks for considering me. I would love to work and learn with you!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about: 

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a skilled cook, gardener (in ground and raised beds, container gardens, hugelkultur, companion planting), organizer, experienced with caring for houses, landscapes, and animals. I know how to use hand and garden tools, weed eater, riding mower. Easy, clear communication.
    I have taught Cajun and zydeco dance and presented many traditional music workshops in settings as diverse as English pubs, festival stages, and house concert living rooms.

  • Languages spoken

    Sign language (American): Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    71

  • What else ...

    I am especially interested in learning about how to care for goats and horses. I love hot and cold natural springs and spring fed lakes and I would like to learn to kayak or paddle board them. I love folk dance and contradance and the Dances of Universal Peace.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      codeine and I'm chemically sensitive so I try to avoid scented cleaning, laundry and personal products.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I mostly eat gluten free but provide my own if the household doesn't.

Feedback