Marco

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Turkey

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    LOOKING FOR MORE EXPERIENCE IN PERMACULTURE, SOCIAL PROJECTS, CHILD CARE, YOGA, MEDITATION...

    Hello everyone
    People would say I'm a calm, respectful, humble, patient, polite, and sometimes a little introverted person. I like building things (even if I'm not a genius at it), creating something new, but I LOVE spending time with children even more. My goal is to find out where I feel at home and to be part of (or to have my own) a self-sustainable permaculture farm in a respectful community that is close to mother nature.

    I've worked and lived in Switzerland and found that the capitalist world doesn't make me happy at all. Since then, I've been trying to find a way to live a more satisfying life and leave the world better than I found it.

    I was married for 5 years and divorced in 2015. Unfortunately, I don't have any children, but I hope to be able to adopt at least one in the future.
    I grew up in a gardening family so I have an idea about sowing and planting and know how to use hammers and nails. My 9 years as a hairdresser do not have any skills that can be used. But the 9 years in hotels and restaurants in Switzerland, 6 months at the Richmond Vale Academy in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, 6 months in Belize as a development instructor, 6 months in Gran Canaria as a hostel manager or my time in a children's camp in Finland could be more helpful.

    Music is very important to me and I would like to learn how to play an instrument, but so far I have only been able to press the play button on the phone.


    I am grateful for every chance to help and learn something new in return. New skills in building, cooking, teaching or creating, improving a language, access to a new worldview, a new lifestyle, or whatever - I am totally open to everything.

    Some of my best experiences:
    1st
    my time in brazil. I volunteered for about 3 months in a social project with children between the ages of 5 and 14. Life there was very simple and yet fulfilling. I enjoyed spending time with the kids in the classroom as much as I was on the soccer field or the beach.
    2nd
    10 days in a Buddhist center of silence in Austria. An unforgettable experience in terms of your own psyche.
    3rd
    4 weeks on the Camino de Santiago with a very good friend (photo)
    During this time, I realized how little it takes to live and travel happily. Having everything in one bag was just liberating.
    4th
    4 weeks in a camp with Russian children between 7 and 16 years in Finland. My job was to talk to the children and motivate them to use their English, even if it was very little. (The only HelpX experience so far)
    5th
    6 months in a small Mayan village in Belize, where I learned a lot about their daily challenges. We tried to improve waste disposal, helped single mothers to generate additional income, opened the village's first library together with Peace Corp, renovated an additional building for the school, which was urgently needed, built small home gardens, and helped children with their homework after school.
    6th
    6 months in Gran Canaria, where I managed a large new hostel. This time was very exhausting and at the same time very rewarding as I met so many great volunteers and guests from all over the world.
    7th
    The books of Anastasia. This was the last input I needed to focus on getting self-sustainable. Through these books I also realized that children don't need to visit a school to fit in a system, they know already everything, we just need to provide them an environment where they can help them to develop without pressure, surrounded by love

    Of course, there were a lot more great experiences that I got to have, but these are the top 7.

    At the moment I am looking for a warm place to spend the winter.

    The only requirement: vegan food and that means no meat, fish, milk, honey, or eggs. I don't expect any special ingredients, just some fruits, and vegetables and I'm happy.

    But now it's enough about me. I hope you will allow me to have new experiences. If you have any questions, I am happy to be reached by e-mail and will try to answer as soon as possible.

    With best regards
    Marco

    PS: German is my mother tongue, English is fine and I understand some Spanish and I need space for my car.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Books
    Music
    Photography
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I know a lot about the daily work in Hotels and Restaurants, a few things about gardening, how to use hammer and nails and I am comfortable with kids.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'd love to improve my English and Spanish

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    Austria (not Australia 😉 )

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan

Photos

Feedback