Victoria

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2018 - 24/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello. I'm Tor, from England.
    I started volunteering through Workaway in the summer of 2013 and had 2 placements in Portugal (1 month) and Wales (3 weeks). Since then I have also Workawayed in Australia, New Zealand, England and Germany.
    I work one season of the year only to give me time to travel and have new experiences for the rest of the year. I've been to over 70 countries now and hope to go to many more. I prefer combining volunteering with travelling, as I get to learn new skills as well as really getting to know places rather than just passing through.
    I am looking for a Workaway placement in the UK for the next few weeks (November and December 2019) as I'm delayed in heading off on my winter travels this year!
    I'll be travelling to South America on Christmas Eve where I plan to spend 3 months visiting as many countries as possible. I would love to do some volunteering placements again - I like working outdoors, love gardening and working with the land, but I am also quite handy in the kitchen! My background is tourism and accommodation management, and I worked for many years for the Youth Hostel Association in England. I also lived in Austria for 4 years working for a ski holiday company, as an Operations Manager looking after the catered ski chalet business. I'm confident with people and working unsupervised and to a high standard.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I have worked in hospitality management for over 10 years, from youth hostels in South-West England to ski chalets in Austria. I have always worked seasonally, to allow me to travel for a few months each year. I now work as an Operations Manager for a company which builds boutique camping areas at the major UK summer music festivals.
    I enjoy working outdoors, and during my Workaways I have done decorating, gardening, small building jobs - I'm happy having a go at most things. I grew up on a small-holding, with veggie plot, animals and ongoing building jobs around the place!

  • Languages spoken

    English, and speak some Spanish

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am vegetarian , although have no problem being around meat-eaters!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No ( but I prefer vegetarian food)

Photos

Feedback